Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 6, 2014

eni FIM Superbike World Championship Race One Results From Portimao

Portimao, Portugal.

eni FIM Superbike World Championship

Portimao, Portugal

July 6, 2014

Race One Results (all on Pirelli tires):

1. Tom SYKES, UK (Kawasaki ZX-10R), 20 laps, 35:23.814

2. Sylvain GUINTOLI, France (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), -2.539 seconds

3. Loris BAZ, France (Kawasaki ZX-10R), -3.175

4. Marco MELANDRI, Italy (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), -4.042

5. Jonathan REA, UK (Honda CBR1000RR), -7.791

6. Alex LOWES, UK (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -14.772

7. Davide GIUGLIANO, Italy (Ducati 1199 Panigale R), -14.877

8. Eugene LAVERTY, Ireland (Suzuki GSX-R1000), -14.941

9. David SALOM, Spain (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -26.018

10. Sebastien BARRIER, France (BMW S1000RR), EVO, -26.032

11. Leon HASLAM, UK (Honda CBR1000RR), -33.041, crash

12. Jeremy GUARNONI, France (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -38.385

13. Niccolo CANEPA, Italy (Ducati 1199 Panigale R), EVO, -42.237

14. Riccardo RUSSO, Italy (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -47.908

15. Alesandro ANDREOZZI, Italy (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -63.502

16. Aaron YATES, USA (EBR 1190RX), -1 lap

17. Gabor RIZMAYER, Hungary (BMW S1000RR), -1 lap

18. Chaz DAVIES, UK (Ducati 1199 Panigale R), -5 laps, crash

19. Bryan STARING, Australia (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -7 laps, DNF, retired

20. Peter SEBESTYEN, Hungary (BMW S1000RR), EVO, -8 laps, DNF, mechanical

21. Sheridan MORAIS, South Africa (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -14 laps, DNF, retired

22. Toni ELIAS, Spain (Aprilia RSV4 Factory), -15 laps, DNF, crash

23. Fabien FORET, France (Kawasaki ZX-10R), EVO, -16 laps, DNF, mechanical

24. Geoff MAY, USA (EBR 1190RX), -16 laps, DNF, retired

Subjects to Homologation

STH. Ayrton BADOVINI, Italy (Bimota BB3), EVO, -34.442 seconds

STH. Christian IDDON, UK (Bimota BB3), EVO, -38.246 seconds

More, from a press release issued by WSBK Dorna Press Office:

Sykes pulls away and wins race 1 to extend points lead

Portimao (Portugal), Sunday 6 July 2014 -
An enthralling 20 lap race 1 saw Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) emerge victorious at a cloudy and overcast Portimao to claim his 7th win of the season and the 21st of his WSBK career.

At the start it was Pata Honda’s Jonathan Rea that took the holeshot, leading for the opening three laps before Sykes and Marco Melandri (Aprilia Racing Team) overtook him into turn one at the start of lap four.

By half distance the constant swapping of positions had allowed reigning champion Sykes to stretch his lead to 3 seconds, before seconds later the white flag was waved to indicate that rain was beginning to fall.

Behind the leader five riders that included Loris Baz (Kawasaki Racing Team), Chaz Davies (Ducati Superbike Team), and Sylvain Guintoli, Leon Haslam on the second of the Pata Honda’s slowly began to close the gap, giving the fans a six rider group battling for the podium places.

Leon Haslam collided with Chaz Davies, both riders able to remount with Davies later retiring. Haslam eventually finished 11th.

At the front Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) had elevated himself to 2nd and began to quickly reduce the gap to Sykes before he responded to retain a lead of 2 seconds until the flag. Guintoli made his return to the podium in 2nd ahead of compatriot Baz, with Marco Melandri 4th.

Jonathan Rea faded to a lonely 5th ahead of Alex Lowes (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki) who passed Ducati’s Davide Giugliano and his team mate Eugene Laverty on the final lap to finish 6th.

Sylvain Barrier (BMW Motorrad Italia Superbike Team) and David Salom (Kawasaki Racing Team) were never more than 0.1s apart for the entire race with Salom, eventually coming out on top by 0.014s on the line to claim the EVO honours.

Toni Elias (Red Devils Roma Aprilia) crashed out after improving from his lowly grid position whilst Fabien Foret (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki), Geoff May (Team Hero EBR), both Grillini Kawasaki riders Bryan Staring and Sheridan Morais, Peter Sebestyen (Team Toth BMW) and Chaz Davies all retired.

Results: 1. Sykes (Kawasaki) 20 Laps/91.840 km in 34'45.568 average 158.529 kph; 2. Guintoli (Aprilia) 2.539; 3. Baz (Kawasaki) 3.175; 4. Melandri (Aprilia) 4.042; 5. Rea (Honda) 7.791; 6. Lowes (Suzuki) 14.772; 7. Giugliano (Ducati) 14.877; 8. Laverty (Suzuki) 14.941; 9. Salom (Kawasaki) 26.018; 10. Barrier (BMW) 26.032; 11. Haslam (Honda) 33.041; 12. Guarnoni (Kawasaki) 38.385; 13. Canepa (Ducati) 42.237; 14. Russo (Kawasaki) 47.908; 15. Andreozzi (Kawasaki) 1'03.502; 16. Yates (EBR) 1 Lap; 17. Rizmayer (BMW) 1 Lap;18. Davies (Ducati) 5 Laps; NC. Staring (Kawasaki); RT. Sebestyen (BMW); RT. Morais (Kawasaki); RT. Elias (Aprilia); RT. Foret (Kawasaki); RT. May (EBR); SH. Badovini (Bimota) 34.442; SH. Iddon (Bimota) 38.246.