Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Mar 9, 2001

Duhamel Wins 600cc Supersport At Daytona

American Honda's Miguel Duhamel won the Honda Pro Oils 600cc Supersport race for a record sixth time Friday over his teammate Nicky Hayden and Yamaha's Anthony Gobert in a race that saw incredible action and bitter disappointment.

The 600cc Superstock race at Daytona was red-flagged after eight laps for oil on the track in turn one. Before the red flag, there had been up to seven riders swapping the lead back and forth with Miguel Duhamel, John Hopkins, Jamie Hacking, Aaron Yates, Nicky Hayden, and Kurtis Roberts each taking a turn in the front. Eric Bostrom was the seventh rider running at the tail end of the lead pack. At the start of lap seven, Roger Lee Hayden pulled off the track in turn one with a smokey blown motor. On the following lap, Nicky Hayden lost the rear end of his Honda CBR600F4i going into the same corner while Bostrom nearly crashed as well.

As the front of the field passed through turn one to start lap nine, Grant Lopez was forced slightly wide and crashed in turn one, prompting AMA officials to stop the race. Nicky Hayden and Lopez both said afterwards that there was no oil flag displayed in turn one. Roger Hayden later said that he had told cornerworkers that there was oil on track before Nicky Hayden and Lopez crashed.

On the cool-down lap for the red flag, Hopkins crashed headed toward the chicane. Hopkins looked over his shoulder and when he returned his eyes to the track ahead, Duhamel was in Hopkins' path. Hopkins hit the back of Duhamel's Honda and fell hard on his right shoulder, suffering a broken collarbone.

Grant Lopez was able to make the re-start but was gridded by officials at the back of the grid.

The race re-started for the remaining 10 laps of the 18-lap final. The red flag gave new hope to Nicky Hayden who had remounted after his turn one crash and was circulating in 13th place before the race was stopped. The re-start was gridded based on the lap-eight running order, which was:

1. Miguel Duhamel
2. Jamie Hacking
3. Aaron Yates
4. Kurtis Roberts
5. John Hopkins
6. Eric Bostrom
7. Jake Zemke
8. Tommy Hayden
9. Jason Pridmore
10. Anthony Gobert
11. Grant Lopez
12. Owen Weichel
13. Nicky Hayden
14. Lee Acree
15. Ryan Landers
16. Richie Alexander

On the re-start, the outright war at the front continued with as many as nine riders slugging it out. The racing action was fast and furious and was typified no better than when Eric Bostrom went from fifth to first in one braking manuever into turn one. The battle came down to the last lap with Miguel Duhamel taking the win over Nicky Hayden and Anthony Gobert.

Results for the Honda Pro Oils 600cc Supersport race follow:

1. Miguel Duhamel, Honda CBR600F4i
2. Nicky Hayden, Honda CBR600F4i
3. Anthony Gobert, Yamaha YZF-R6
4. Kurtis Roberts, Honda CBR600F4i
5. Eric Bostrom, Kawasaki ZX-6R
6. Jamie Hacking, Suzuki GSXR600
7. Tommy Hayden, Yamaha YZF-R6
8. Aaron Yates, Suzuki GSXR600
9. Jake Zemke, Honda CBR600F4i
10. Josh Hayes, Honda CBR600F4i
11. Lee Acree, Suzuki GSXR600
12. Jason Pridmore, Suzuki GSXR600
13. Joseph Gill, Yamaha YZF-R6
14. Jimmy Moore, Suzuki GSXR600
15. Ryan Landers, Yamaha YZF-R6
16. Rich Alexander, Suzuki GSXR600
17. Grant Lopez, Suzuki GSXR600
18. Ted Cobb, Suzuki GSXR600
19. Daigoro Suzuki, Suzuki GSXR600
20. Kevin Lacombe, Yamaha YZF-R6

Top 5 This Week