Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 11, 2014

DiSalvo Sets The Early Pace In AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Practice At Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Crew Chief/Team Owner Richard Harris shows Jason DiSalvo the lap times during AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike practice Friday morning at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Photo by David Swarts, copyright Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.

Jason DiSalvo topped AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Free Practice One Friday morning at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Riding his Castrol/Sportbike Track Time/Apex Manufacturing Triumph Daytona 675R in misty conditions, DiSalvo lapped the 2.2-mile course in 1:28.908 and was the only rider in the 1:28 bracket.

"I think this was the result of our preparation for this race and having a session where we didn't have any bad luck," DiSalvo told "Bad luck has been our nemesis this year. This is the first session since Daytona that things have been perfect. Our setup from Barber is working great. It's essentially our base setup, but it's playing to our strengths right now."

The GoPro Daytona SportBike class will have its first qualifying session at 12:55 p.m. local time Friday afternoon.

AMA Pro Road Racing

GoPro Daytona SportBike

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
Monterey, California
July 11, 2014
Free Practice One Results (all on Dunlop tires):

1. Jason DiSalvo (Tri Daytona 675R), 1:28.908
2. Jake Gagne (Yam YZF-R6), 1:29.187
3. Garrett Gerloff (Yam YZF-R6), 1:29.319
4. JD Beach (Yam YZF-R6), 1:29.423
5. Jake Lewis (Yam YZF-R6), 1:29.579
6. Danny Eslick (Tri Daytona 675R), 1:29.606
7. Dane Westby (Yam YZF-R6), 1:29.875
8. Jake Zemke (Hon CBR600RR), 1:30.100
9. Tomas Puerta (Yam YZF-R6), 1:30.741
10. Bobby Fong (Tri Daytona 675R), 1:30.770
11. Benny Solis (Yam YZF-R6), 1:30.983
12. Blake Young (Yam YZF-R6), 1:30.990
13. Elena Myers (Tri Daytona 675R), 1:31.196
14. Bryce Prince (Yam YZF-R6), 1:31.600
15. Chad Lewin (Yam YZF-R6), 1:31.663
16. Steve Rapp (Tri Daytona 675R), 1:31.725
17. Ryan Matter (Yam YZF-R6), 1:31.846
18. Tucker Lancaster (Yam YZF-R6), 1:31.935
19. Kyle Wyman (Yam YZF-R6), 1:32.161
20. Joe Roberts (Hon CBR600RR), 1:32.259
21. Jason Aguilar (Yam YZF-R6), 1:32.985
22. Erick Sanchez (Yam YZF-R6), 1:33.055
23. Michael Barnes (MV Agusta F3 675), 1:33.457
24. Kaleb De Keyrel (Yam YZF-R6), 1:33.769
25. Sahar Zvik (Kaw ZX-6R), 1:34.168
26. Andre Ochs (Yam YZF-R6), 1:34.403
27. Miles Thornton (Tri Daytona 675R), 1:35.406
28. Melissa Paris (Tri Daytona 675R), 1:35.542
29. Garrett Willis (Kaw ZX-6R), 1:35.901
30. Roi Holster (Yam YZF-R6), 1:35.915
31. Michael Gilbert (Yam YZF-R6), 1:36.852
32. Sean Dwyer (Yam YZF-R6), 1:36.916
33. Thomas G. Montano (Hon CBR600RR), 1:37.422
34. Michael Pond (Yam YZF-R6), 1:37.536
35. Peter Kemling (Kaw ZX-6R), 1:38.586
36. Stefano Mesa (Yam YZF-R6), 1:39.397