Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 27, 2002

Chris Ulrich Wins AMA Pro Superstock Race At Mid-Ohio

Copyright 2002, Roadracing World Publishing, Inc.

Team Valvoline EMGO Suzuki's Chris Ulrich won the AMA Superstock race at Mid-Ohio, coming from fourth into turn one to catch and pass Mike Smith, then pulling away to a 2.869-second margin of victory. Adam Fergusson was third ahead of Ty Howard and defending Champion Jimmy Moore.

Ulrich turned the fastest lap of the race, a 1:31.6569, and led the most laps, 9 of 16. Once he took the lead, Ulrich was not repassed.

An ecstatic Ulrich took an extra-long cool-off lap, waving to the crowd, then pulled up to the starter stand, took the checkered flag and went on a victory lap as Smith and Fergusson waited in the winner's circle.

The event marked Ulrich's second AMA Superstock win--he won at Laguna Seca last year--and his first podium of the 2002 season.

Ulrich won on Michelin tires while Smith ran Pirelli tires and Fergusson ran Dunlops.

When he was 10 years old, Ulrich ran the pit board during WERA endurance and F-USA races for Smith, who at the time rode for what was then known as Valvoline Suzuki in F-USA races and as Team Suzuki Endurance in WERA endurance events.

Moore's 5th-place finish all but ensures him of his second AMA Superstock Championship (OK, OK, last year the same class was known as 750cc Supersport), since he finished ahead of title rivals Tommy Hayden (7th today) and Lee Acree (17th today). One race remains in the series, at VIR in two weeks.

John Haner, who encountered a clutch problem in qualifying, came from the seventh row on the grid to finish a gaining 10th.

Jason DiSalvo led early-on but crashed after three laps; he said he hit debris on the racetrack and lost the front.

Results follow:
(All on Suzuki GSX-R750 unless noted)
1. Chris Ulrich
2. Mike Smith, -2.8693 seconds
3. Adam Fergusson, -3.0614
4. Ty Howard, -4.3631
5. Jimmy Moore, -6.5897
6. Chris "Opie" Caylor, -7.2564
7. Tommy Hayden, Kawasaki ZX-6R, -7.4315
8. Brian Livengood, -7.9597
9. Rob Jensen, -13.5054
10. John Haner, -16.2474
11. Chris Rankin, -23.6235
12. Craig Connell, -24.1875
13. Vincent Haskovec, -25.3559
14. Tony Meiring, Kawasaki ZX-6R, -38.0373
15. Alan Schmidt, -40.8065
16. Scott Jensen, -40.8596
17. Lee Acree, -41.5475
18. Jeff Bostrom, -41.8194
19. Kevin Pate, -43.1495
20. Justin Blake, -44.3748
21. Jake Holden, -48.0414
22. Monte Nichol, Yamaha YZF-R6, -61.5967
23. Adam Coco, Yamaha YZF-R6, -68.7621
24. Andrew Nelson, Honda CBR600F4i, -72.4202
25. T. Falcone, -73.4568
26. Dave Ebben, -82.6026
27. Scotty Vanscoik, -82.8439
28. Scott Hermersmann, -88.8678
29. Eric Spector, -89.0064
30. Jason Peters, Suzuki GSX-R600, -1 lap
31. M. Johnston, -1 lap
32. M. Frick, -1 lap
33. J. Kerker, Honda CBR600, -1 lap
34. Chuck Ivey, -1 lap
35. Marty Sims, -1 lap
36. John Jacobi, -4 laps, DNF, crash
37. Ben Spies, Suzuki GSX-R600, DNF, pulled in
38. Shane Clarke, -12 laps, DNF, crash
39. Jason DiSalvo, -13 laps, DNF, crash
40. Rich Conicelli, DNS

Our best estimate of the points:
1. Moore, 258
2. Acree, 232
3. Hayden, 222
4. Haskovec, 201
5. Tie, Livengood/Brian Parriott, 180
7. Meiring, 176
8. DiSalvo, 170
9. Connell, 165
10. Ulrich, 161
11. Howard, 148