Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Aug 9, 2014

Byrne Earns MCE British Superbike Pole Position At Oulton Park

Shane "Shakey" Byrne (67).

MCE British Superbike Championship

Oulton Park, England

August 9, 2014

Qualifying Results (all on Pirelli tires):

From Knockout Qualifying Session Three:

1. Shane Byrne, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:35.463

2. Josh Brookes, Australia (Yam YZF-R1), 1:35.512

3. Dan Linfoot, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:35.856

4. Tommy Bridewell, UK (Yam YZF-R1), 1:35.976

5. Barry Burrell, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:36.105

6. Chris Walker, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:36.232

7. John Hopkins, USA (Suz GSX-R1000), 1:36.291

8. Peter Hickman, UK (Hon CBR1000RR), 1:36.460

9. Jakub Smrz, Czech Republic (Duc 1199 Panigale R), 1:45.599

10. Ryuichi Kiyonari, Japan (BMW S1000RR), no time recorded

From Knockout Qualifying Session Two:

11. Michael Rutter, UK (BMW S1000RR), 1:36.523

12. Josh Waters, Australia (Suz GSX-R1000), 1:36.528

13. Martin Jessopp, UK (BMW S1000RR), 1:36.566

14. Glen Richards, Australia (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:36.861

15. Howie Mainwaring, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:36.943

16. Stuart Easton, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:37.258

17. Patric Muff, Switzerland (BMW S1000RR), 1:37.279

18. Keith Farmer, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:37.304

19. John Ingram, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:38.547

From Knockout Qualifying Session One:

20. Ian Hutchinson, UK (Yam YZF-R1), 1:37.258

21. Scott Smart, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:37.915

22. Lee Jackson, UK (BMW S1000RR), 1:37.972

23. Jenny Tinmouth, UK (Hon CBR1000RR), 1:38.718

24. Aaron Zanotti, UK (Suz GSX-R1000), 1:38.720

25. Gary Mason, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:38.984

26. Ben Wilson, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:39.032

27. Christophe Ponsson, France (Bim BB3), 1:39.256

28. Rhalf Lo Turco, Brazil (Kaw ZX-10R), 1:42.347

29. Jon Kirkham, UK (Kaw ZX-10R), no time recorded

More Americans competing at Oulton Park:

James Rispoli, riding his Team Traction Control Yamaha YZF-R6, qualified 12th in Motorpoint British Supersport. Rispoli's best lap time was 1:39.927. Graeme Gowland, who rode a Triumph, qualified on pole position with a 1:38.029.

Jayson Uribe qualified fourth overall and third in the Moto3 class in Motul British Motostar on his FPW Racing/R5R Honda. Uribe's best lap time was 1:47.238. Bradley Ray, riding a 125cc-class machine, was the fastest rider in the session with a 1:44.998.

Former AMA Pro regular Ben Young, a resident of Canada, was 26th out of 38 riders in 1000cc Superstock Qualifying. Riding his Team WD-40 Kawasaki ZX-10R, Young turned a best lap time of 1:40.143. Danny Buchan, riding a Kawasaki ZX-10R, earned provisional pole position with a time of 1:37.446.

AMA Pro Superbike regular Cory West was 33rd out of 38 riders in 1000cc Superstock Qualifying. Riding a Splitlath Motorsport EBR 1190RS, West turned a best time of 1:40.826.

Top 5 This Week