Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 26, 2014

Bruno Silva Wins CCS Unlimited GP Make-Up Race At Homestead-Miami Speedway

Bruno Silva (center), Felipe MacLean (left) and Rodolfo Ramirez (right). Photo by Lisa Theobald, courtesy of CCS Florida.

Silva Wins Shootout During Make Up

CCS Florida



July 26, 2014

Greg Melka led the Expert Middleweight Grand Prix race after nailing the holeshot and putting a gap on the rest of the field. Behind him, Bruno Silva battled for and claimed the second spot, but was unable to close the gap on Melka. Melka took the checkered flag without challenge when the race was red flagged for an incident in the amateur field just before the checkered flag.

Bruno Silva won the Unlimited Grand Prix today after leading the race from start to finish. The race started with a three rider breakaway for the lead. But, Silva was untouchable as Rodolfo Ramirez and Felipe MacLean battled behind him for second place. Lap after lap, Silva led the charge with Ramirez closing in on the brakes and never getting close enough to challenge. Then, in the white flag lap, Ramirez makes a mistake exiting turn four, going wide and letting MacLean get by. With less than a lap to go, Ramirez was not able to recover. Silva took the checkered flag with MacLean in second and Ramirez in third.

The full CCS Florida race schedule will run Sunday, as usual with GT races in the morning and sprint races after lunch.


MIDDLEWEIGHT GRAND PRIX EXPERT: 1. Greg Melka (Yam YZF-R6). 2. Fernando Silva (Yam YZF-R6); 3. Santiago Villa (Kaw ZX-6R); 4. Alan Slaney (Tri 675): 5. Kat Zimpel (Yam YZF-R6).

MIDDLEWEIGHT GRAND PRIX AMATEUR: 1. Jorge Acosta (Tri 675); 2. Alex Arango (Yam ZYF-R6); 3. Patrick Loiselle (Kaw ZX-6R); 4. Richard Tabar (Yam YZF-R6); 5. Luis Vazquez (Hon CBR600RR); 6. Razvan Dutu (Yam YZF-R6).

UNLIMITED GRAND PRIX EXPERT: 1. Bruno Silva (Kaw ZX-10R); 2. Felipe MacLean (Kaw ZX-10R); 3. Rodolfo Ramirez (Kaw ZX-10R); 4. Joshua Paladeni (Suz GSX-R1000); 5. Santiago Villa (Kaw ZX-10R); 6. Camilo Correa (Suz GSX-R600); 7. Robert Picinich (Kaw ZX-10R); 8. Barrett Long (Duc 1199); 9. Andres Toledo (Suz GSX-R1000); 10. Armando Ferrer (Kaw ZX-10R).

Top 5 This Week