Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Nov 18, 2013

Final Round Of FIM eRoad Racing World Cup Cancelled, Bostrom And Fung Win Titles (Updated)

FIM eRoad Racing World Cup North America winner Eric Bostrom (center) with Kenyon Kluge (left) and Jeremiah Johnson (right) at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Photo courtesy of TTXGP.
TTXGP are delighted to announce Ho Chi Fung and Eric Bostrom as the first-ever FIM eRoad Racing World Cup winners.

Bostrom rode his Team Icon Brammo motorcycle to first place in the North American Series while Chi Fung piloted the AC-motored Zongshen bike to victory in Europe.

The 2013 FIM eRoad Racing series saw records broken on both continents with new race-lap records set in Laguna Seca, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Valencia, Oschersleben and Le Mans. In North America, Bostrom’s win at Laguna put him ahead in the series from the first race while Chi Fung dominated the European series with three first-place finishes.

The North American winners’ teammates also took second in each series after Shane Turpin’s win with Brammo at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in North America and Su Rong Zai’s consistent podium places in Europe.

Eric Bostrom, FIM eRoad Racing North American Cup winner 2013, said: ‘The development we have seen in these bikes year-on-year is just amazing. It has been a real pleasure racing in the series with Brammo, the team have been fantastic and Shane was very fast as well. Now I can’t wait to see how the bikes will perform in 2014 because I want a world championship!’

Brian Wismann, Brammo Team Manager, added: ‘Team Icon Brammo is proud to take home a third North American winner and continue our reign as World Champions through to the 2014 season. Congratulations to Eric Bostrom as he’s definitely put in the effort to deserve this award. We wish we would have had a bit more competition but it didn’t stop us from continuing to develop the bikes into more formidable race machines and achieving our technical goals. We’re looking forward to seeing who steps up to challenge the Empulse RR in 2014.’

Ho Chi Fung, FIM eRoad Racing European Cup winner 2013, said: ‘This has been a great season for electric motorcycles and it’s an honour to be crowned European Series winner. I want to say thank you to all the team who all put in so much effort to make this happen. Now we’re looking forward to improving the bike ahead of next season. We want to win this championship again.’

Daniel Chung, Zongshen Team Manager, added: ‘We’re obviously very happy with our season, we have seen a lot of developments with the AC-motored machine and it has been a real learning curve. Now we want to take want we have found into next season and keep developing these bikes to become the fastest out there.’

The race series’ official website,, has a full breakdown of the season’s standings along with race reports and rider reaction.

More, from a press release issued by FIM:

FIM eRoad Racing World Cup Final round cancelled

It is with great regret that FIM and TTXGP announce the cancellation of the 2013 FIM eRoad Racing World Cup Final.

The final was originally set to take place in India this November as a support race for WSBK at the Buddh International Circuit. Unfortunately the WSBK Indian Round that was scheduled to take place on 17 November has been cancelled.

The cancellation meant TTXGP were forced to amend our calendar accordingly and find a new venue for the world final but time constraints made this task impossible.

Azhar Hussain, CEO of TTXGP, said: “The decision to cancel our world final was not one we have taken lightly. Unfortunately we have exhausted all our options to reschedule this event and have been left with no option but to cancel this year’s final and concentrate on making 2014 our best season yet.”

Without a Final for this World Cup, the FIM has had to take an extraordinary decision to establish two separate classifications with regard to the rounds in North America and the ones in Europe.

2013 FIM eRoad Racing World Cup
European Series
(Pos Rider, Pilote Nat, FMN, Machine, Total)

1, Chi Fung HO, HKG, HKAA, Zongshen, 75 points
2, Rong Zai SU, CHN, CMSA, Zongshen, 61
3, Samuel WEST, GBR, ACU, Agni 2012, 57
4, Oscar PENA MARIN, ESP, RFME, Zongshen, 40
5, Adrian MENCHEN GONZALEZ, ESP, RFME, Zero S 2013, 29
6, Harald GASSE, DEU, DMSB, Agni 2009, 28
7, Julian MIRALLES RODRIGUEZ, ESP, RFME, Zero S 2013, 24
8, Rhalf LO TURCO, GBR, ACU, Mavizen TTX, 16
9, Chris FOSTER, GBR, ACU, Zero S 2013, 13
10, Peter LINDÉN, SWE, SVEMO, Zero S 2013, 13
11, Philippe MONNERET, FRA, FFM, Mavizen TTX, 11
12, Cormac CONROY, IRL, MCUI, Zero S 2013, 11
13, Thomas SCHURICHT, DEU, DMSB, Zongshen, 10

2013 FIM eRoad Racing World Cup
North American Series
(Pos, Rider, Pilote Nat., FMN, Machine, Total)

1, Eric BOSTROM, USA, AMA, Brammo, 45
2, Kenyon KLUGE, USA, AMA, Zero, 36
3, Jeremiah JOHNSON, USA, AMA, Zero, 29
4, Shane TURPIN, USA, AMA, Brammo, 25
5, Arthur KOWITZ, USA, AMA, Brammo, 21
6, Shelina MOREDA, USA, AMA, Brammo, 11
7, Ted RICH, USA, AMA, Zero, 10
8, Elaine CARPENTER, USA, AMA, Zero, 9

TTXGP plans to take FIM eRoad Racing across the globe in 2014 with seven races across three continents.
Top 5 This Week