Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
May 27, 2014

Bemisderfer, Mazziotto, Zayat Win ASRA Nationals At Summit Point

Xavier Zayat (241) leads Justin Holderman (94) at Summit Point Motorsports Park. Photo by, courtesy of ASRA/CCS.

ASRA Celebrates Memorial Day at Summit Point

ASRA Championship Sprint Series By Pirelli Tire

Sanctioned by AMA
May 26, 2014
Summit Point Motorsports Park
Summit Point, WV

Summit Point, WV – The AMA sanctioned ASRA Championship Series presented by Pirelli Tire joined CCS at Summit Point Motorsports Park for the third round of the 2014 championship and it was another huge Memorial Day celebration as 184 riders filled the paddock to overflowing. With 837 entries every race turned into a battle for the checkered flag and provided a perfect back drop for the ASRA Sprints that kicked off the holiday afternoon.

Starting off the afternoon were the ASRA SportBikes and the past two SportBike National Champions, the 2013 Champion Ryan Jones and 2012 Champion Mark Miller Jr., picked up the battle where they left off at NJMP on May 4th. The holeshot belonged to top qualifier Jones and Miller immediately started applying the pressure only to see the two get tangled up in turn 3 on the second lap and down they went. Before anyone could capitalize on their misfortune a red flag stopped the event and sent the riders to the paddock while an unrelated oil spill was cleaned up. After a short delay the event was restarted and with Miller and Jones out, now it was Xavier Zayat and Justin Holderman aboard their Metric Devil Moto Yamaha R-6’s who took the lead and battled to the final flag. At the line it was the 15-year old Zayat by .048 seconds over Holderman. Finishing the Yamaha sweep of the podium was 15-year old Casey Tobolewski on his Washington Cycle Works R-6 taking third place in his ASRA SportBike debut. The win places Zayat in the championship point lead for the first time with Holderman just 4 points back in second place.

In ASRA SuperStock things looked to be going Mark Heckles' way as Tim Bemisderfer went wide in turn ten on the second lap allowing Heckles to slip away early in the contest. With 7 laps left Bemisderfer got to work and moved his Vesrah Suzuki GSX-R1000 back into second place and was closing on Heckles. Then, on lap 7, Bemisderfer went wide again leaving Heckles alone at the point, Heckles got the white flag on his Honda CBR1000RR, then crashed hard in turn 3. Heckles stated later that he didn’t know Bemisderfer had a bobble and was more than 2 seconds back so he was pushing as hard as he could. The crash brought out the red flag, reverting scoring to the last green flag lap and with Heckles moved to the back of the field, it was Bemisderfer who was awarded the win, With Heckles removed, Lloyd Bayley on the LB Racing Suzuki was second and David Loikits riding his Loikits Industries Suzuki was third. With the win, Bemisderfer has a 27 point in the championship with five rounds remaining,

Leading up to the ASRA ThunderBike final, Anthony Mazziotto III had everything going his way, and was determined to keep the mojo rolling. On Sunday Mazziotto won the CCS Expert GTL race, qualified first in ThunderBike then took the win in the first-ever CCS 500 SuperSport event. For most riders that would have been a great weekend but Mazziotto wasn’t finished. From the start of the 9 lap ThunderBike final, Mazziotto put his Mazziotto/Markbilt Suzuki SV650 in the lead and never looked back, By the time the checkered flag flew, Mazziotto had a 22 second lead over the Raw Speed Racing Bimota 1100 of David Hanig in second place. While Hanig may not have had much luck getting to the lead, he had enough to put 4.4 seconds between himself and third place Bart DeFrancesco on the DC Paintworx SV 650. The most disappointing finish had to be Art Diaz riding his Buell XB9 after trying to take the third position away from DeFrancesco for 8 laps, Diaz ran out of fuel on the final straight, leaving DeFrancesco alone in the run to the final flag for third while Diaz had to settle for fourth. With his second win, Mazziotto moves into the championship lead by 10 points over Hanig after three rounds of the series.

In Amateur SuperStock, Richard Smith capitalized on his record setting qualifying run on Sunday by taking the win over Jeremy Krasny by just over 18 seconds and Reggie Bridges finished third.

The Amateur SportBike class was won by Christopher Kosan, followed by Brendan Buggy in second then Brandon Tullock in third.

Continuing his chase for the 2014 ASRA Amateur ThunderBike Championship, George Demetropolis took his second win of the season, besting Nathan Wills in second and third position went to A David Rhodes. Demetropolis trails Rhodes by 16 points with five races left in the series.

For complete results and point standings, visit

The next event for the AMA sanctioned ASRA Championship Series Presented by Pirelli Tire is July 5-6 at Road America in Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.

The American SportBike Racing Association (ASRA) is the parent organization to the Championship Cup Series (CCS), the largest amateur motorcycle road racing organization in the United States issuing over 3,000 licenses per year. ASRA promotes eight AMA sanctioned Sprint Series and eight AMA sanctioned Team Challenge road racing events for 2014. The CCS Series sanctions 45 events at popular tracks around the United States, including Daytona International Speedway, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Road America, New Jersey Motorsports Park, and Virginia International Raceway among other fine venues. In 2013 ASRA and CCS will provide riders with access to millions of dollars of sponsorship awards through participation in its sanctioned events.

Join CCS and ASRA in the greatest road racing experience available today. Race CCS! To learn more visit our website at or call us at (817) 246-1127.