Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jan 3, 2001

Arclight Suzuki To Concentrate On Formula USA Series in 2001

Tentative plans made by involved teams and sponsors could see Arclight Suzuki Racing concentrate on the Formula USA Series in 2001 with riders Lee Acree and Brian Parriott, with Arclight replaced in the WERA National Endurance Series by Vesrah Racing with riders Mark Junge, Glenn Szarek and Chris Ulrich. Arclight will run on Pirelli tires and Vesrah on Metzeler tires.

According to involved sponsors, Arclight will compete in the entire Formula USA Series and will also enter selected AMA events, running GSX-R750 and GSX-R600 Suzukis. Vesrah, meanwhile, will run a GSX-R1000 in the WERA National Endurance Series and will enter Junge in the Unlimited Superbike and Sport Bike classes at non-conflicting Formula USA events. Ulrich will run the entire Formula USA Series on a GSX-R750 and a GSX-R600, as well as competing in selected AMA 750cc Supersport events.

Arclight won the 2000 WERA National Endurance Championship with riders Acree, Tray Batey, Scott Harwell and Chris Hughes, and Acree won the Formula USA Sport Bike Championship on one of the team's bikes, using Pirelli tires.

Vesrah won the 2000 WERA 24-Hour West, with riders Szarek, Ulrich, John Jacobi, David Rose, David McGrath and Joe Prussiano, on a GSX-R750, also using Pirelli tires.

"I'm still waiting for final word before I know for sure what we'll be doing," said Vesrah Racing's Mark Junge when reached by phone and asked to comment on January 3. Arclight Suzuki's Chuck Warren had not returned a phone call requesting comment at post time.

Top 5 This Week