Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Sep 9, 2001

AMA Hall Of Fame Inducts 28

From an AMA press release:<BR> <BR><BR>MOTORCYCLE HALL OF FAME INDUCTS CLASS OF 2001<BR><BR>PICKERINGTON, Ohio -- Twenty-eight legendary figures in the history of American motorcycling were inducted into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame today (September 8), during ceremonies at the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Museum in Pickerington, Ohio.<BR><BR>The Motorcycle Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to motorcycling, including those known for their contributions to road riding, off-road riding and all categories of racing, as well as those who have excelled in business, history, design and engineering.<BR><BR>The new inductees join 241 others already enshrined in the Motorcycle Hall of Fame, located on the lower level of the Museum. The Motorcycle Hall of Fame features a plaque recognizing each inductee, along with related motorcycles, photos and memorabilia.<BR><BR>This year's class includes racers, tuners, engineers and media figures. Among the notables: Mike Baldwin, five-time AMA road-racing champion; Mark Barnett, winner of four motocross and Supercross championships; Allen Carter, the engineer responsible for many motorcycles produced by Indian; Charles Clayton, who, with his wife, Sharon, developed Cycle News into America's weekly newsmagazine of motorcycling; Erv Kanemoto Jr., the tuner who helped Freddie Spencer and others win world road-racing championships; Larry Maiers, race announcer and TV personality; Fred Merkel, three-time AMA and two-time world Superbike champion; and Joe Parkhurst, founder of Cycle World magazine.<BR><BR>"We see the Motorcycle Hall of Fame as an important part of the Museum's mission," said Don Emde, chairman of the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, which runs the facility. "Preserving the heritage of American motorcycling means more than displaying a collection of classic machines. It means keeping alive the memory of those who built that heritage."<BR><BR>Emde, winner of the 1972 Daytona 200, is a Hall-of-Famer himself, as is his father, Floyd, who won the same event in 1948.<BR><BR>Any motorcycling enthusiast may submit a person to be considered for induction into the Motorcycle Hall of Fame; complete biographical information should accompany the submission. Inductees are chosen by six committees consisting of Hall-of-Famers and independent experts in various disciplines. The Motorcycle Hall of Fame Class of 2002 will be announced next May.<BR><BR><BR>THE MOTORCYCLE HALL OF FAME<BR>CLASS OF 2001<BR><BR>Walt Axthelm: First American to ride the ISDT (1960). Many-time winner of off-road events on Catalina Island.<BR><BR>Mike Baldwin: 1978, '82-'85 AMA Formula One Champion. 16 AMA National wins and a top contender in 1980s AMA Superbike racing.<BR><BR>Mark Barnett: Factory Suzuki rider and off-road star of the 1980s. 1980-'82 AMA 125cc and 1981 AMA Supercross champion. On 1983 winning Motocross des Nations team.<BR><BR>Mike Bell: Son of famous race tuner Bill Bell and top off-road star in his own right. Won the 1980 Supercross title.<BR><BR>Ron Bishop: This Baja legend has ridden all 33 Baja 1000s, 27 Baja 500s, 17 Tecate 500 Enduros, and two ISDTs. Dealer in Escondido still prepping race bikes.<BR><BR>Bill Brokaw: Trials competitor for 50 years. Three-time Southern California champion; enduro, hare and hound, ice-racing competitor. Dealer for 35 years.<BR><BR>Don Brown: Former Cycle magazine editor, later executive for Johnson Motors Triumph, BSA Inc., Suzuki. Now a respected industry consultant.<BR><BR>Allen Carter: Engineer at the Indian Motocycle Company in the 1930s. Played a key role in the design of many new models.<BR><BR>Charles Clayton: With wife, Sharon, he turned a West Coast publication into the weekly Cycle News that serves to sport to this day.<BR><BR>Babe DeMay: Successful dirt-track racer, won 1966 National at Lincoln, Illinois. Later tuned for Mark Brelsford and many other top riders.<BR><BR>Dave Ekins: Won numerous off-road events, including Baja, Catalina and Greenhorn Enduro. 1964 and '66 ISDT Gold Medal winner. Later, a motorcycle journalist.<BR><BR>George Everett: 1957 & '58 Peoria TT National winner, ranked in top six in points 1956-'57.<BR><BR>Erv Kanemoto Jr.: Tuner for many top U.S. road-racers. With Freddie Spencer aboard, his machines won the 1985 250cc and 500cc World Road Racing Championships.<BR><BR>Carey Loftin: Ex-speedway racer who found great success in movie stunt work in the 1930s and '40s. Member of traveling stunt show.<BR><BR>Larry Maiers: Worked at Penton Imports and announced races in the 1970s and '80s. Later moved on to television with "MotoWorld" and Speedvision.<BR><BR>Fred Merkel: 1984-'86 AMA Superbike Champion; 1988-'89 World Superbike Champion; 20 career AMA Superbike National wins. 1982 250cc GP class runner-up.<BR><BR>John McLaughlin: Winner of Catalina Grand Prix 250cc & 350cc classes the same year. Greenhorn Enduro winner. AFM #1 500cc three years.<BR><BR>Joe Parkhurst: Founder/publisher of Cycle World magazine. He changed the way motorcycle magazines covered the sport. Co-founded Saddleback Park in Southern California.<BR><BR>Mike Parti: Successful sidecar racer in scrambles and Bonneville speed trials. Today, he is one of the most respected restorers of antique motorcycles.<BR><BR>Leo Payne: Famous drag racer who amassed many records and won numerous championships. First non-streamliner to go over 200 mph at Bonneville.<BR><BR>Ronnie Rall: Top 1960s and '70s Midwest dirt-track racer. Ranked third in AMA Grand National points in 1964; won five AMA Nationals.<BR><BR>Jim Rice: Versatile 1960s and '70s dirt-track star. He won six AMA Nationals during the 1970 season alone, and over his career.<BR><BR>Dave Schultz: Six-time NHRA National Pro Stock Champion; 45 NHRA National event wins in 23-year racing career.<BR><BR>Shell Thuet: Legendary race tuner. In the 1960s, his rider, Elliott Schultz, dominated Ascot. Later sponsored Wayne Rainey and Eddie Lawson.<BR><BR>Marty Tripes: Won the inaugural Superbowl of Motocross race at age 16. Went on to win 11 AMA Nationals in his career.<BR><BR>Ralph White: 1963 Daytona 200 winner; finished 1963 ranked third in AMA Grand National points. 1965 winner of Loudon, Indianapolis and Springfield Nationals.<BR><BR>Jack Wilson: Dealer, tuner, sponsor in AMA Class C races; especially well-known for his role in numerous Bonneville speed records.<BR><BR>Steve Wise: Superbikers Champion, top-10 ranking in AMA 250cc Supercross 1975, 1978 and 1980. Top-10 ranking in 125cc, 1976-'78. Later won an AMA Superbike National.
Top 5 This Week