Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Sep 3, 2013

Young Gun Profile: Wyatt Farris

AMA Pro SuperSport: Wyatt Farris on his Meen Motorsports Yamaha YZF-R6 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca. Photo by Brian J. Nelson.
Roadracing World has partnered with AMA Pro Racing to present the Roadracing World Young Gun of Year Award to the top Daytona SportBike or SuperSport rider who was under the age of 19 at the start of the 2013 AMA Pro season.

In the spirit of this award, Roadracing World is featuring one Young Gun per week. These riders were also featured in the March 2013 Issue of Roadracing World. This week's rider is Wyatt Farris, who is being featured even though he turned 19 too early to actually win the award--because his break-out rides at Miller Motorsports Park were too spectacular to ignore!

Name: Wyatt Farris

Age: 19

Current home: Calistoga, California

Current height/weight: 6’0”/150 pounds

Current school/grade: Graduated high school

Began riding at age: 8 years

First road race: 2010, Auto Club Speedway, California, WERA, B Superstock Novice, 4th

Current racebike: Yamaha YZF-R6

Tuner/mechanic: Gary Dean, Will Morton

Races/series now competing in: AMA Pro SuperSport

Sponsors: Jon Block Group/Meen Motorsports, Graves Motorsports, Yamaha, Radiomedics,, South Valley Orthopedics, San Jose Yamaha, Yamalube, Yamaha Generators, Mot Y Desing, Galfer, Vortex, DID, Cortech, Arai, CT Racing, Above Category

Racing accomplishments (so far): 2013 season, currently ranked 4th in AMA Pro SuperSport West Championship points (2 podiums, 3 top-five finishes, 7 top-10 finishes); 2012 season, finished 6th in AMA Pro SuperSport Race One at Sonoma Raceway, won WERA West C Superstock Championship (6 wins, 14 podiums with WERA), placed 6th in Overall AFM Championship Point Standings, won AFM 600cc Superbike Championship, finished 2nd in AFM 600cc Production Championship (2 wins, 8 podiums with AFM), won Middleweight California State Championship.

2013 racing goals: Win an AMA Pro SuperSport race, consistently finish at the front.

Racing career goals: Win an AMA Pro Championship, win a MotoGP or Superbike World Championship.

Racing heroes: Doug Henry, Nicky Hayden, Ayrton Senna.

Favorite tracks: Laguna Seca, Auto Club Speedway, Sonoma Raceway.

Hobbies: Go karting, riding pit bikes, hanging out with friends.

Training methods: Cycling, gym workouts, riding motocross and supermoto.

If I wasn’t racing I would be: Racing bicycles or cars or something else.

Learn more about Wyatt Farris on his profile on at .

Be sure to get your own profile and join Roadracing World's new, interactive online community for racers, riders and fans of racing and performance riding at Post up your pictures, upload your results and show off your skills with your racing videos. Show off your sweet street ride and follow your favorite racers. And when you join, you get the chance to be featured on the home page of and get a free three-month trial subscription (Offer valid for U.S. addresses only). It's a guaranteed win!

About the AMA Pro Roadracing World Young Gun of Year Award:

AMA Pro Racing and Roadracing World Publishing, Inc. have reached an agreement to name the Roadracing World Young Gun Of The Year for the 2013 GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing season.

The new Young Gun Of The Year Award is based on Roadracing World's 17 consecutive years of recognizing the best young road racers in North America. The 2013 version of the annual feature recognized 30 riders--17 of them AMA Pros--and was published in the March, 2013 print edition of Roadracing World magazine. One of those riders is likely to be named the 2013 Roadracing World Young Gun Of The Year and receive a $2,500 cash award.

To be eligible for the award, riders must have been no older than 18 at the start of the 2013 GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing season. The award will go to the eligible rider with the most overall points in either the SuperSport or GoPro Daytona SportBike classes and a check will be presented during the 2013 GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing Awards Banquet.

Past Roadracing World Young Guns who have won AMA Pro road races include Tommy Aquino, J.D. Beach, Cameron Beaubier, Josh Day, Jason DiSalvo, Dustin Dominguez, Danny Eslick, Bobby Fong, Jake Gagne, Nicky Hayden, Roger Hayden, Tommy Hayden, Josh Herrin, Jake Holden, John Hopkins, Elena Myers, Shane Narbonne, Huntley Nash, Tyler Odom, Joey Pascarella, Chris Peris, James Rispoli, Ben Spies, Chris Ulrich and Blake Young.