Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 26, 2013

Yoshimura Suzuki's Tsuda Fastest In First Qualifying Session At The Suzuka 8 Hours

FIM Endurance World Championship: Yoshimura Suzuki (12) in action at Suzuka. Photo by, courtesy of FIM.
FIM Endurance World Championship
Coca-Cola Zero Suzuka 8 Hours
Suzuka Circuit, Japan
July 26, 2013

First Rider Qualifying:

1. Yoshimura Suzuki (T. Tsuda), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:07.688
2. F.C.C. TSR Honda (J. Rea), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:07.857
3. Monster Energy Yamaha YART (K. Nakasuga), Yam YZF-R1, 2:08.197
4. Musashi RT Harc-Pro (T. Takahashi), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:08.366
5. Team Kagayama (Y. Kagayama), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:08.751
6. Yamaha France GMT94 Michelin Yamalube (D. Checa), Yam YZF-R1, 2:09.039
7. BMW Motorrad France Team Thevent (E. Nigon), BMW S1000RR, 2:09.088
8. Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (V. Philippe), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:09.114
9. TOHO Racing with Moriwaki (T. Yamaguchi), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:09.132
10. Honda Team Asia (M. Tamada), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:09.321

Second Rider Qualifying:

1. Musashi RT Harc-Pro (L. Haslam), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:08.540
2. Monster Energy Yamaha YART (B. Parkes), Yam YZF-R1, 2:08.592
3. Yoshimura Suzuki (N. Aoki), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:09.224
4. F.C.C. TSR Honda (R. Kiyonari), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:09.472
5. Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (A. Delhalle), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:09.662
6. Yamaha France GMT94 Michelin Yamalube (K. Foray), Yam YZF-R1, 2:10.091
7. TOHO Racing with Moriwaki (S. Ito), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:10.158
8. Eva RT Test Type-01 Synergy Force Trickstar (O. Deguchi), 2:10.738
9. BMW Motorrad France Team Thevent (J. Pridmore), BMW S1000RR, 2:10.811
10. Moto Map Supply (K. Teramoto), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:11.422

13. Team Kagayama (K. Schwantz), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:12.007

32. Team 38 PS-K (D. Keyes), Kaw ZX-10R, 2:15.470

Third Rider Qualifying:

1. Musashi RT Harc-Pro (M. VD Mark), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:08.363
2. Yoshimura Suzuki (J. Brookes), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:09.248
3. Monster Energy Yamaha YART (J. Waters), Yam YZF-R1, 2:09.816
4. Yamaha France GMT94 Michelin Yamalube (M. Lagrive), Yam YZF-R1, 2:09.991
5. SweetsLabo Motorrad 39 with Hokkaido Sabedr (D. Sakai), BMW S1000RR, 2:10.098
6. Team Kagayama (N. Haga), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:10.146
7. Suzuki Endurance Racing Team (J. Da Costa), Suz GSX-R1000, 2:10.191
8. Honda Suzuka Racing Team (T. Yasuda), 2:10.413
9. TOHO Racing with Moriwaki (K. Watanabe), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:10.517
10. Honda Team Asia (Y. Takahashi), Hon CBR1000RR, 2:10.838

NC. F.C.C. TSR Honda, no third rider
NC. BMW Motorrad France Team Thevent, no third rider

More, from a press release issued by FIM Endurance Press Office:

Yoshimura Suzuki Racing Team leads FCC TSR Honda and Monster Energy Yamaha YART in Suzuka qualifiers

Things are hotting up in Japan with the first qualifying sessions for the Suzuka 8 Hours. Fifth after the free practice, the Yoshimura Suzuki Racing Team took control again this morning with a best lap signed by Takuya Tsuda in 2’07.688, just squeaking ahead of the FCC TSR Honda, qualified by Jonathan Rea in 2’07.857. A 2’08.197 lap by Katsuyuki Nakasuga kept the Monster Energy Yamaha YART in the top three.

Fourth in these first qualifiers, the Honda of Musashi RT Harc- Pro is looking like a serious contender with a best lap time of 2’08.363 chalked up by the twenty-year old Dutch rider Michael Van Der Mark and very nearly matched by team mates Takumi Takahashi and Leon Haslam.

The Team Kagayama clocked up the fifth best time with a lap by team manager Yukio Kagayama in 2’08.751 while Noriyuki Haga (2’10.146), who crashed, and Kevin Schwantz (2’12.007) are expected to up their game.

The three best European teams are currently in sixth, seventh and eighth. The Yamaha France GMT 94 Michelin Yamalube leads the trio thanks to David Checa (2’09.039) ahead of BMW Motorrad France Team Thevent with Erwan Nigon in 2’09.088 and the Suzuki Endurance Racing Team qualified by Vincent Philippe in 2’09.114. However, the BMW Motorrad France Team Thevent has a challenging race ahead of it without Damian Cudlin, injured yesterday in free practice.

Team R2CL with the experienced Gwen Giabbani clocked up a best lap of 2’11.398. Honda TT Legends and Bolliger Team Switzerland are still in the leading pack ahead of Flemmbo Leader Team and Suzuka rookies Motobox Kremer by Shell Advance, who gained 3 seconds since the free practice.

The second qualifiers take place this afternoon. On Saturday, in the Top10 Trial, a Superpole specific to the Suzuka 8 Hours, the ten best teams coming out of the qualifiers will fight it out for the top places on the grid of this 36th edition of the Suzuka 8 Hours, second round of the FIM Endurance World Championship.
Top 5 This Week