Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Oct 13, 2013

Yamaha Reviews Its Successful 2013 Season In AMA Pro Road Racing

GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro Road Racing: 2013 Daytona SportBike Champion Cameron Beaubier and the YES/Monster Energy/Graves Yamaha team.
It Was Yamaha Dominance In AMA Pro Road Racing As The Yamaha U.S. Road Racing Teams And Its Sponsors Celebrated A Multi-Championship Season

Cypress, CA – When the accolades were passed out by AMA Pro Road Racing at the end of the season, most of them went to the riders and crewmembers who make up the highly successful Yamaha U.S. Road Racing Teams. It was a phenomenal season for virtually everyone who is involved with road racing Yamaha YZF-R1 and YZF-R6 motorcycles.

Keith McCarty, Motorsports Racing Division Manager for Yamaha Motor Corporation, U.S.A., said it best: “Yamaha, our riders, our sponsors, and all the hard-working individuals who make up our road racing teams had an amazing 2013 season, and my heartfelt congratulations and thanks go out to each and every one of them. It’s a joy to work with so many great people who strive for, and achieve, such excellence on behalf of the Yamaha brand.”


In AMA Pro Racing’s premier class, Josh Herrin piloted his #2 Yamaha Monster Energy/Graves/Yamaha YZF-R1 SuperBike to four race wins and eight additional podiums this season. As a result of his consistently excellent race finishes, the 23-year-old Georgia rider won the 2013 AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike Championship, which was the first title of his professional racing career. In addition, Rick Hobbs, who is crew chief for Josh Herrin, was named Tuner of the Year by AMA Pro Racing.

Finishing second in the 2013 SuperBike points standings was three-time SuperBike Champion Josh Hayes, who had eight race wins and two additional podiums aboard his #1 Monster Energy/Graves/Yamaha R1 SuperBike. “The Mississippi Madman” also had a season sweep in qualifying, earning all eight SuperBike pole positions this year, and he set a new lap record at New Jersey Motorsports Park.

Foremost Insurance/Pegram Racing/Yamaha rider Larry Pegram finished the 2013 SuperBike season in sixth place in points and with three podium finishes this year aboard his #72 Yamaha R1 SuperBike.

All told, the Yamaha R1 took the checkered flag in 12 of the 14 races this season, which netted Yamaha the SuperBike Manufacturer Championship and Monster Energy/Graves/Yamaha the SuperBike Team Championship.


In the Daytona SportBike Class, Cameron Beaubier had an absolutely dominant season. He won 12 of the 13 races--including the 2013 Daytona 200--aboard his #6 Yamaha Extended Service/Monster Energy/Graves/Yamaha YZF-R6, and he finished second in the only race he didn’t win. The 20-year-old superstar won the 2013 AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike Championship going away, and his crew chief Olly Hutchinson was named Daytona SportBike Tuner of the Year by AMA Pro Racing. Cameron had a season sweep in qualifying, earning all eight DSB pole positions this year, and he also won the coveted Rolex Daytona Cosmograph wristwatch for earning the pole for the Daytona 200. In addition, he broke the lap record at six race tracks in a row--including twice this season at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca.

Cameron’s 18-year-old teammate Garrett Gerloff, who was competing in his first full season of Daytona SportBike competition, finished the year in third place in the Championship points standings. Garrett had 11 top-five finishes in 2013, including 5 second-place results.

The Yamaha R6 was the winning motorcycle in every single Daytona SportBike race this season, and the R6 and its riders also swept the podium in 11 of the 13 DSB races this year. The top five riders in the 2013 Championship points standings were all Yamaha-mounted, so it was no surprise that Yamaha won the DSB Manufacturer Championship. In addition, Yamaha Extended Service/Monster Energy/Graves/Yamaha won the 2013 Daytona SportBike Team Championship.


In the AMA Pro SuperSport Class, RoadRace Factory/Yamaha rider Tomas Puerta was a double Championship winner. The Yamaha R6 rider, who hails from Medellin, Colombia, won three races and had five additional podium finishes this season to clinch both the National SuperSport Championship and SuperSport West Division title.

Meanwhile, in the SuperSport East Division, Team 95/Yamaha’s Hayden Gillim finished second in the Championship points standings, just one point out of first. R6 rider Stefano Mesa finished third in the SuperSport East Division.

The Yamaha R6 was the winning motorcycle in 6 of the 13 SuperSport races this year, and Yamaha led all brands with the R6 encompassing a full 68% of the entries in the SuperSport class this season. On that strength, Yamaha won the 2013 SuperSport Manufacturer Championship.

For more news and other team info, be sure to check out Yamaha’s Facebook page and follow us on Twitter @YamahaMotorUSA.
Top 5 This Week