Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 2, 2014

Sutton Wins Five Races During Rain-Affected WMRRA Event At The Ridge Motorsports Park

Ryan Sutton (1). Photo courtesy of WMRRA.

Sutton master of the "Rain Dance", wins 5 of 6 Races at WMRRA 3rd Round

It was one of those June weekends where NW Racers were challenged with the decision of which shoes to wear to ”The Dance”- dry race rubber or rain tires. Sun followed by showers was the music playing while WMRRA’s 3rd round at the Ridge Motorsports Park took place. KFG Racing’s/GP Suspension’s Sutton stumbled in the first tango of the weekend in Open SS, running off the track while battling for second on a quick drying track with 2Fast Track Days/EDR Performance mounted Mark DeGross. They both and nearly the rest of the field were on rain tires, which were getting cooked and gummy as any moisture on the track quickly evaporated, producing some interesting racing. 

Canadian Adam Robarts riding for Redline Motorsports, put the ruby slippers on early and chose slicks along with KFG Racing’s Sam Verderico. Robarts rode wise, slowly worked his way to the front and ended up winning the contest. 

Sutton went on to cut-the-rug all weekend winning the remaining 5 races he was in, whether wet, dry, or slimy conditions, Ryan kept the bike up and in front of his fellow dance contestants, showing them how it’s done. “I came into this weekend kind of frazzled from work, family, and such, really needing a good weekend. I’m so glad my team and I pulled off a great weekend and grabbed our Championship lead back!” Sutton stated as he was trying to decide whether to wear his shades or Pirelli Cap during the awards ceremony because of looming skies.

In the Novice1 Samba, Brisa White riding for KFG Racing, pulled off the first win of her career mounted on a new to her CBR600RR. Dana Deter also grabbed a 1st in Novice 2, proudly supporting and raising money for the Michael J Fox Foundation which supports Parkinson’s disease. The WMRRA community applauded both for their inaugural wins, sharing in their excitement and causes.

Sunday’s forecast was supposed to be better, but the Bi-Polar weather patterns continued to play throughout the weekend. Sunday’s Formula Ultra race produced the first dry race of the weekend with Ryan Sutton taking a dominating win. Allister MacKinnon on his Speed Dealer Motors GSXR750 took the win in 750SB in the wet over class points leader Chase Glidden on his Big Mamma Racing R6.

In the oldies but goodies jitterbug, they don’t have the option of rain tires, so the vintage class runs on DOT style rubber, rain or shine. You’ve got to give these gritty fellas some credit to see them out there in wet conditions still racing on less than ideal tires... Mick Hart took the win in 750 Vintage while Neil Jensen worked hard for a win in 160 Vintage on his Honda CL175.

WMRRA was founded in 1974 and this is the club's 40th Anniversary. The Christian Motorcycle Association held a BBQ at the awards ceremonies Saturday night to celebrate the anniversary. WMRRA president Tim O’Mahony said “It’s been an honor to serve at the helm of this organization for the last several years and I’m looking forward to WMRRA serving the NW racers for another 40 years!”

Based on the tricky rain dances throughout the weekend, scoring shows that Ryan “Chromie” Sutton has snatched the points lead from Mark DeGross with a 521 to 502 point total respectively. Round 4 will be fireworks for sure!

June 28-29, 2014 @ The Ridge - Results

500 Supersport

1. Christopher Johnson (Kaw 250R)

650 Supersport Twins

1. Barry Carlson (Suz SV650)

2. Eric May (Suz SV650)

3. Cliff Beebe (Suz SV650)

4. Dan Cordon (Suz SV650)

5. Robert May (Suz SV650)

6. Krister Fast (Suz SV650)

Open Supersport

1. Adam Robarts (Hon CBR1000RR)

2. Mark DeGross (Hon CBR1000RR)

3. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R1000)

4. Ryan Sutton (Suz GSX-R1000)

5. Volga Mermut (Hon CBR1000RR)

6. Tim Kingston (Suz GSX-R1000)

Novice 1

1. Brisa White (Hon CBR600RR)

2. Eddie Oner (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Justin Christenson (Yam YZF-R6)

4. Doug Lenz (Yam YZF-R6)

5. Keith Blumhagen (Suz GSX-R600)

6. Stephen Bloom (Hon CBR600RR)

Novice 2

1. Dana Deeter (Suz GSX-R1000)

2. Andrew Fergus (Duc 999)

750 Supersport

1. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R750)

2. Chase Glidden (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Matt Darling (Hon CBR600RR)

4. Scott Decker (Suz GSX-R600)

5. Raymond Parsons (Duc 899)

6. Rich Kim (Hon CBR600RR)

600 Supersport

1. Ryan Sutton (Kaw ZX-6R)

2. Mark DeGross (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Chase Glidden (Yam YZF-R6)

Open Single

1. Greg Canright (KTM 560SMR)

Middleweight Grand Prix Twins

1. Dan Cordon (Suz SV650)

2. Eric May (Suz SV650)

3. Cliff Beebe (Suz SV650)

4. Dustin Walbon (Suz SV650)

Clubman Qualifier

1. Raymond Parsons (Duc 899)

2. Morgan Strobel (Suz GSX-R600)

3. Thad Langford (Suz GSX-R750)

4. Chris Mann (Suz GSX-R750)

5. Chris Burgess (Tri Daytona 675R)

6. Matthew Wichgers (Hon CBR600RR)

Formula Ultra

1. Ryan Sutton (Kaw ZX-6R)

2. Mark DeGross (Hon CBR1000RR)

3. Adam Robarts (Hon CBR1000RR)

4. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R1000)

5. Allister MacKinnon (Suz GSX-R1000)

6. Thad Langford (Kaw ZX-10R)

Ultra Lightweight Superbike

1. Christopher Johnson (Kaw 250R)

2. Richard Law (Kaw 250R)

3. Sean Galt (Kaw 250R)

4. David Swezey (Kaw 250R)

5. Gunnar Jensen (Kaw 250R)

Novice 1

1. Kent Swendseid (Yam YZF-R6)

2. Brisa White (Hon CBR600RR)

3. Eddie Oner (Yam YZF-R6)

4. Justin Christenson (Yam YZF-R6)

5. Erich Freeman (Yam YZF-R6)

6. Doug Lenz (Yam YZF-R6)

Novice 2

1. Derick Clary (Kaw ZX-10R)

2. Michael Castro (Duc 1199)

3. Dana Deeter (Suz GSX-R1000)

4. Tyler Devoy (Suz GSX-R1000)

5. Dave Pearce (Suz GSX-R1000)

6. Keith Stone (Hon CBR600RR)

Formula Ultra

1. Ryan Sutton (Kaw ZX-6R)

2. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R1000)

3. Mark DeGross (Hon CBR1000RR)

4. Brian Rose (Hon CBR1000RR)

5. David Wanzer (Hon CBR1000RR)

6. Scott Decker (Suz GSX-R1000)

Open GP Twins

1. Robert May (Suz SV650)

2. Raymond Parsons (Duc 899)

3. David Marod (Duc 848 evo)

600 TFS

1. Jared Barnes (Suz GSX-R600)

2. Kent Swendseid (Suz GSX-R600)

3. Dan Cordon (Yam YZF-R6)

4. Morgan Strobel (Suz GSX-R600)

5. Matthew Wichgers (Suz GSX-R600)

6. Blake Jarvis (Suz GSX-R600)

600 Superbike

1. Ryan Sutton (Kaw ZX-6R)

2. Mark DeGross (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Paul Capps (Yam YZF-R6)

4. Micah Kudo (Yam YZF-R6)

5. Chase Glidden (Yam YZF-R6)

6. Matt Darling (Hon CBR600RR)

Lightweight Superbike

1. Cliff Beebe (Suz SV650)

2. Robert May (Suz SV650)

3. Eric May (Suz SV650)

750 Superbike

1. Allister MacKinnon (Suz GSX-R750)

2. Chase Glidden (Yam YZF-R6)

3. Sam Verderico (Suz GSX-R750)

Heavyweight Early Grand Prix

1. Donny Schultz (Suz GSX-R1000)

2. Jared Barnes (Suz GSX-R750)

3. Morgan Strobel (Suz GSX-R600)

Formula Thunder

1. Robert May (Suz SV650)

2. Chris Burgess (Tri Daytona 675R)

250 Cup

1. Philip Melnyk (Kaw 250R)

2. Christopher Johnson (Kaw 250R)

Open Superbike

1. Ryan Sutton (Suz GSX-R1000)

2. Adam Robarts (Hon CBR1000RR)

3. Allister MacKinnon (Suz GSX-R1000)

4. David Wanzer (Hon CBR1000RR)

5. Donny Schultz (Suz GSX-R1000)

6. Volga Mermut (Hon CBR1000RR)

500 Vintage

1. Brett Andrist (Hon XL250)

160 Vintage

1. Neil Jensen (Hon CL175)

2. Mica Grohn (Hon CL175)

3. Tim Fowler (Hon CL175)

4. Tim O’Mahony (Hon CL175

750 Vintage

1. Mick Hart (Hon CB 720)

2. Jon Lacey (0 0)

3. Duncan Craick (See Weslake)

4. Paul Brodie (EXC)

Top 5 This Week