Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Oct 5, 2012

Selection Event For 2013 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup To Be Held Oct. 9-11 At Monteblanco, In Spain

Photo by GEPA Pictures, courtesy of Red Bull

The excitement of Aragon's fabulous double race weekend has barely cooled and already we are looking towards the 2013 edition of the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup and the Selection Event at Monteblanco in Spain on October 9th, 10th and 11th.

Not only is the development of the Rookies version of the Moto3 KTM well in hand and a testing schedule planned but those who will ride the exciting new machine are about to be chosen.

Analysing the long list of online applicants gets more difficult every year but once again the selection committee have parred it down to 106 teenagers who are invited from all over the world to show their skills at Monteblanco. The venue was as always kept secret until the last practical moment and from that time until the event no testing is allowed by applicants.

The circuit offers a variety of layouts that will allow the riders to show their skills on the 125cc Metrakits used for the event. The applicant list is split into two groups with half being on track on the first day and half on the second. The best from each day are invited to ride again on the third day.

At the end of the 3rd day between 10 and 14 riders will be invited to join the 10 to 14 who are staying in the Cup from the 2012 entry. The combination will make up the 24 Rookies that line up for the 2013 season.

The members of the Selection Committee for the event are Gustl Auinger, Harald Bartol, Peter Clifford and Daniel Ribalta.

Invited Applicants

Tomas Cassano, Argentina 

Troy Guenther, Australia 

Nicholas Liminton, Australia 

Tayla Relph, Australia 

Olly Simpson, Australia 

Lawson Walters, Australia 

Kevin Rofner, Austria 

Loris Cresson, Belgium 

Angelo Licciardi, Belgium 

Michael Verbrugghe, Belgium 

Tomas Casas, Canada 

Stacey Nesbitt, Canada 

Eden O'Shell, Canada 

Michal Kolek, Czech Republic 

Romana Tomasková, Czech Republic 

Angel Daniel Toribio Genao, Dominican Republic 

Wayne Reyne Veras Rodriguez, Dominican Republic 

Hannes Soomer, Estonia 

Sami Laaksonen, Finland 

Felix Nässi, Finland 

Robin Anne, France 

Maximilien Bau, France 

Enzo Boulom, France 

Karl Croix, France 

Valentin Grimoux, France 

Pierre Langlois, France 

Corentin Perolari, France 

Felix Peron, France 

Martin Renaudin, France 

Alex Börner, Germany 

Philipp Freitag, Germany 

Jonas Geitner, Germany 

Michael Gerstacker, Germany 

Klaus Heidel, Germany 

Nicolai Kraft, Germany 

Aris Michail, Germany

 Imanuel Putra Pratna, Indonesia

 Kevin Arduini, Italy 

Axel Bassani, Italy 

Enea Bastianini, Italy 

Nicolò Jarod Bulega, Italy 

Cristiano Carpi, Italy 

Matteo Ciprietti, Italy 

Riccardo Filippini, Italy 

Lorenzo Gabellini, Italy 

Andrea Locatelli, Italy 

Cecilia Masoni, Italy 

Nicodemo Matturro, Italy 

Damiano Mencarelli, Italy 

Fausto Mincione, Italy 

Manuel Pagliani, Italy 

Agostino Santoro, Italy 

Mario Tocca, Italy 

Lorenzo Villamagna, Italy 

Yuhta Amano, Japan 

Ryuya Kanayama, Japan 

Soushi Mihara, Japan 

Bo Bendsneyder, Netherlands 

Vasco Van der Valk, Netherlands 

Tyler Lincoln, New Zealand 

Ammar Khalid, Pakistan 

Dominik Stefanowski, Poland 

David Ferreira, Portugal 

Makar Yurchenko, Russian Federation

 Andrea Zanotti, San Marino 

Azhar Mohd Noor, Singapore 

Blaze Baker, South Africa 

Darryn Binder, South Africa 

Sylvano De Aguiar, South Africa 

Aron Canet, Spain 

Ferran Cardus Gonzalez, Spain 

Illan Fernandez, Spain 

Augusto Fernandez, Spain 

Hector Garzo Vicent, Spain 

Oscar Gutierrez Iglesias, Spain

Joan Mir Mayrata, Spain 

Marc Miralles Gonzalez, Spain 

Francesc Perez Casas, Spain 

Miquel Pons Payeras, Spain 

Borja Quero Martinez, Spain 

Gerard Riu Malé, Spain 

Daniel Saez Gutierrez, Spain 

Bartolomé Sanchez Pérez, Spain 

Sara Sanchez Tamayo, Spain

David Sanchis Martinez, Spain 

Pedro Soler Donat, Spain 

Jesper Pellijeff, Sweden 

Harun Cabuk, Turkey 

Toprak Razgatlioglu, Turkey 

Callum Bey, United Kingdom 

Joe Francis, United Kingdom 

Stefan Hill, United Kingdom 

Aaron Maxfield, United Kingdom 

Conor Parkhill, United Kingdom 

Lewis Rollo, United Kingdom 

Ross Simpson, United Kingdom 

Sam Smith, United Kingdom 

Taz Taylor, United Kingdom 

Ryan Watson, United Kingdom 

Anthony Alonso, United States 

Brandon Altmeyer, United States 

Alex Caldwell Wisdom, United States 

Palmer Kling, United States 

Jay Newton, United States 

Casey Tobolewski, United States 

Jayson Uribe, United States

Top 5 This Week