Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Nov 24, 2011

Restored 1947 Indian Chief Won Best In Show Award At Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d'Elegance Last Weekend In Las Vegas

Bob Mitchell and his 1947 Indian Chief.

Master bike restorers, collectors display two-wheeled art at Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d'Elegance

LAS VEGAS, Nev. -- Classic, historic and gorgeous motorcycles were on full display at the Las Vegas' Red Rock Casino, Resort and Spa Saturday, Nov. 19, when more than 100 bikes took center stage at the 2011 Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d'Elegance.

The event, organized by the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation (AMHF), which raises funds for the Motorcycle Hall of Fame, welcomed some of the country's most stunning restored and original motorcycles from nearly all eras and disciplines. The juried show recognized the most outstanding motorcycles in a number of categories.

"The support that this show is receiving is growing every year, and we're pleased to recognize so many wonderful motorcycles today," said Tom White, AMHF board member and emcee. "The setting here in Las Vegas, held in concert with the Motorcycle Hall of Fame's annual induction ceremony, really makes this show special."

Winning the Jim Davis Best in Show Award was Bob Mitchell, whose black and chrome 1947 Indian Chief amazed the crowd and judges with its attention to detail and the craftsmanship evident in the restoration.

Mitchell, who also attended the 2010 Motorcycle Hall of Fame Concours d'Elegance, said he was impressed by the show.

"You get really top quality bikes at this show," Mitchell said. "The people who are showing the bikes here are the ones that take bike restoration seriously, and it's just a very nice group of people, too. I will definitely be back next year -- probably with a surprise or two."

The 2011 Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d'Elegance was sponsored by Allied Federal, Moto Armory, Meguiar's, Auctions America, AmPro Racing, Bob Andersohn of St. Louis, The Early Years of Motocross Museum, S&S Cycle, SuperTrapp, Mike Howarth and The Owen Collection.

Other class winners are listed below.

American to 1953 Winner: 1947 Indian Chief, Bob Mitchell Runner-up: 1932 Indian Four, Bob Mitchell

American 1954-1975 Winner: 1958 Harley-Davidson XLH Sportster, Loren Carpenter Runner-up: 1967 Harley-Davidson FLHP-LAPD, Paul Wheeler Third place: 1973 Harley-Davidson 125, Brad Boyle

British to 1964 Winner: 1961 Triumph TR5 AC, Danny Selman Runner-up: 1936 Rudge Ulster, Bob Mitchell Third place: 1959 BSA Spitfire Scrambler, Jerry Garrett

British 1965-1975 Winner: 1967 BSA Spitfire, Don Johnson Runner-up: 1969 Triumph T120R Bonneville, Don Harrell Third place: 1970 BSA Firebird SCR, Don Harrell

European to 1964 Winner: 1960 BMW R69S, Rick Huemmerich Runner-up: 1951 BMW R68ISDT, Evan Bell

European 1965-1975 Winner: MV Augusta 500cc, Brad Boyle Runner-up: 1965 BMW R60/2, Evan Bell Third place: 1965 Ducati Mach-1, Joseph Edone

Japanese to 1970 Winner: 1966 Honda CA-77 Dream, Gary Briggs Runner-up: 1966 Honda Scrambler, Brad Yuill Third place: 1967 Honda Superhawk, Brad Yuill

Japanese 1971-1975 Winner: 1971 Kawasaki F-5 Bighorn, Al Lutino Runner-up: 1975 Kawasaki H2 750, Dan Ambrect Third place: 1975 Suzuki Rotary, Brad Boyle

Antique Competition to 1969 Winner: 1966 BSA Hornet, Don Harrell Runner-up: 1946 Excelsior-Jap Speedway, Jerry Haworth Third place: 1964 Rickman MK-3 Matchless, Roger Riddell/Mecum Auctions

Classic Competition 1970-1975 Winner: 1974 Honda Elsinore, Peter Palko Runner-up: 1972 Harley-Davidson XR750, Brad Newell Third place: 1971 Jawa CZ, Jim Beck

Specials and Customs to 1975 Winner: "Easy Rider" Billy Bike Replica, Paul Wheeler Runner-up: 1969 Husqvarna Flink 250, Brad Boyle Third place: 1970 Triumph TR 6, Don Johnson

Historic Racing Winner: 1978 Yamaha OW-36, Eric and Lee Hale Runner-up: 1980 Yamaha YZR-500, Joe Fenech Third place: 1985 KTM GS300ED, Gary Briggs

Best Preservation 1953 AJS 185, Don Johnson

Kenny Roberts Award 1957 BSA Goldstar, Mike Iannuccilli

Early Years of Motocross Museum Award 1938 Victor-Martin Speedway, Brad Newell

Moto Armory Award 1965 Harley-Davidson Topper with Sidecar, Terry Gambel

John Penton Award 1967 Husqvarna MX250, Chris Carter

Owen Collection Award 1975 Yamaha TZ750, Ray Abrams

Dave Mungenast Award 1966 Triumph T120R, Tim Gilligan

Roger DeCoster Award 1949 AJS 185

Best of Show 1947 Indian Chief, Bob Mitchell

About the AMA Visa Card Legends & Champions Weekend The 2011 AMA Visa Card Legends & Champions Weekend was a three-day celebration of motorcycling's greats held at Las Vegas' Red Rock. In addition to the Motorcycle Hall of Fame Dave Mungenast Memorial Concours d'Elegance bike show, the weekend included the AMA Visa Card Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by KTM, and the AMA Visa Card Racing Championship Banquet.

About the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation Founded in 1990 by the American Motorcycle Heritage Foundation, the goal of the Motorcycle Hall of Fame is to tell the stories and preserve the history of motorcycling. Located on the campus of the American Motorcyclist Association in Pickerington, Ohio, the Hall of Fame's three major exhibition halls feature the machines and memorabilia of those who have contributed notably to the sport. The Motorcycle Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to motorcycling, including those known for their contributions to road riding, off-road riding and all categories of racing, as well as those who have excelled in business, history, design and engineering. More information can be found at

Top 5 This Week