Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
May 28, 2016

Repsol FIM/CEV Qualifying Results From Motorland Aragon

Carmelo Morales (31).

Repsol FIM/CEV Championship Series

Motorland Aragon, Spain

May 28, 2016

Qualifying Results:


1. Carmelo Morales, Spain (Yamaha), 1:53.562

2. Maximilian Scheib, Chile (BMW), 1:53.701

3. Santiago Barragan, Spain (BMW), 1:54.418

4. Anthony Delhalle, France (Suzuki), 1:56.120

5. Niko Makinen, Finland (Yamaha), 1:56.363

6. Diego Pierluigi, Argentina (Yamaha), 1:56.373

7. Oscar Climent Sanchis, Spain (Yamaha), 1:56.732

8. Ole Bjorn Plassen, Norway (Ducati), 1:57.007

9. Pierre Texier, France (Kawasaki), 1:57.137

10. Eeki Kuparinen, Finland (Kawasaki), 1:57.277


1. Steven Odendaal, South Africa (Kalex), 1:54.743

2. Remy Gardner, Australia (Kalex), 1:54.990

3. Tetsuta Nagashima, Japan (Kalex), 1:55.213

4. Alan Techer, France (HTS NH-6), 1:55.573

5. Augusto Fernandez Guerra, Spain (Tech 3), 1:55.845

6. Eric Granado Santos, Brazil (Kalex), 1:55.893

7. Sena Yamada, Japan (Kalex), 1:56.396

8. Samuele Cavalieri, Italy (Kalex), 1:56.615

9. Ramdan Rosli, Malaysia (Kalex), 1:56.718

10. Iker Lecuona, Spain (Kalex), 1:56.721

14. Jayson Uribe, USA (Kalex), 1:57.264

30. Michael Aquino, USA (Ariane), 2:00.934


1. Lorenzo Dalla Porta, Italy, 1:59.383

2. Alonso Lopez Gonzalez, Spain, 1:59.935

3. Marcos Ramirez Fernandez, Spain, 2:00.083

4. Raul Fernandez Gonzalez, Spain, 2:00.092

5. Kaito Toba, Japan, 2:00.260

6. Albert Arenas Ovejero, Spain, 2:00.537

7. Kazuki Masaki, Japan, 2:00.580

8. Aaron Polanco Munoz, Spain, 2:00.732

9. Tony Arbolino, Italy, 2:00.768

10. Yari Montella, Italy, 2:00.829

35. Gabriel Martinez-Abrego Cantu, Mexico, 2:05.715

More, from a press release issued by Repsol FIM/CEV Press Office:

Dalla Porta, Odendaal and Morales take poles at MotorLand Aragón

Lorenzo Dalla Porta (ITA-Husqvarna) in Moto3™, Steven Odendaal (RSA-Kalex) in Moto2™ and Carmelo Morales (SPA-Yamaha) in Superbike will head the grids in the third round of the FIM CEV Repsol at MotorLand Aragon this Sunday.

Italian Lorenzo Dalla Porta set the time to beat in the first Moto3™ Junior World Championship qualifying session and was the only rider to lap in under two minutes, followed by teammate Raúl Fernández (SPA-Husqvarna) and Kaito Toba (JPN-Honda). Aleix Viu (SPA-Honda) was the fastest in the Moto3™ Production class. In the second qualifying session, Dalla Porta confirmed his third consecutive pole of the season with a time of 1'59.383. Alonso López (SPA-Honda), who finished half a second behind the Italian, and Marcos Ramírez (SPA-KTM) will complete the front row of the grid. In Moto3™ Production, Aleix Viu posted the fastest time of 2'04.429.

In the Moto2™ European Championship, Steven Odendaal headed the first qualifying session, which had to be postponed early on owing to a pile-up involving 11 riders caused by oil left on the track by Bertin Thibaut’s (FRA-Suter) machine. Remy Gardner (AUS-Kalex) and Tetsuta Nagashima (JPN-Kalex) took the other slots on the front row in the absence of the final qualifying session. Steven Odendaal earned pole with a time of 1'54.993. Remy Gardner benefited from his first session time to keep the line of the grid and being Tetsuta Nagashima in third position. Ivo Miguel Paixao set the quickest time in Superstock 600 of 1'57.744.

Superbike European Championship leader Maximilian Scheib (CHI-BMW) was the only rider able to lap in 1'53 in the first qualifying session, trailed by Carmelo Morales (SPA-Yamaha) and Santiago Barragán (SPA-BMW). Argentine Diego Pierluigi (ARG-Yamaha) set the best time among the privateers. In the second session Carmelo Morales stopped the clock at 1'53.562 to take his first pole of the season ahead of Maximilian Scheib and Santiago Barragán. Niko Mäkinen (FIN-Yamaha) was the first Superbike Privateer rider with a time of 1'56.368.

Sunday’s race schedule is as follows:

Superbike 1 (15 laps): 11h

Moto2™ 1 (15 laps): 12h

Moto3™ (15 laps): 13h

Superbike 2 (15 laps): 14h

Moto2™ 2 (15 laps): 15h

As usual, entrance to the paddock will be free over the weekend. In addition, FIM CEV Repsol fans can pick up a pass on Sunday from 9h onwards (from the official circuit shop - the MotorLand Store - located in box 25 in the MotorLand paddock) to join the Pit Lane walk that will take place at 10.15h before the start of racing (Starting point: box 25).

Once the racing has finished on Sunday, fans can ride on the track. Information and requirements for taking part can be found here.

In Spain, the races can be viewed live on the Movistar MotoGP channel which will broadcast all the races scheduled in the Moto3™ Junior World Championship, Moto2™ European Championship and Superbike European Championship categories. BT Sports (Great Britain) and Eurosport via Eurosportplayer (France, Germany, Belgium, Netherlands) also offer coverage of the Moto3™ Junior World Championship, Moto2™ European Championship and Superbike European Championship with live broadcasts of each of the races through their digital network. In Italy, Sky will broadcast live the Moto3™ Junior World Championship race and the Moto2™ European Championship races.

In addition, all the races can be seen live on the Championship’s Youtube channel.

All the results and information about the Championship are on the official website:

Top 5 This Week