Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 12, 2014

Rapp Retains AMA Pro Harley-Davidson Pole Position At Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Steve Rapp (1). Photo by Brian J. Nelson/AMA Pro Racing.

Steve Rapp only rode a few laps to scrub in tires on his Suburban Harley-Davidson XR1200 during the final Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson qualifying session Saturday morning at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, but the new lap record of 1:35.279 the defending Champion set during Friday's provisional qualifying session was good enough to secure the pole position.

Danny Eslick, second in provisional qualifying, opted to sit out the final qualifying session entirely, but the 1:36.159 he did on his Ruthless Racing Harley-Davidson XR1200 on Friday earned him the second spot on the grid.

Kyle Wyman, however, made the most of his final qualifying session. Riding his Millennium Technologies/Kyle Wyman Racing XR1200, Wyman lowered his provisional qualifying time of 1:36.718 to 1:36.392 during Saturday morning's session and claimed the third and final spot on the front row of the grid. And Wyman did it just three days after having surgery on his right knee.

Josh Chisum Racing's Tyler O'Hara, the Championship point leader, qualified seventh.

The 11-lap Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson race is schedule to happen at 3:40 p.m. Pacific Time Saturday.

AMA Pro Road Racing

Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series

Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

Monterey, California

July 12, 2014

Provisional Combined Qualifying Results (all on Harley-Davidson XR1200s and Dunlop tires):

1. Steve Rapp, 1:35.279 (New Lap Record)

2. Danny Eslick, 1:36.159

3. Kyle Wyman, 1:36.392\

4. Gage McAllister, 1:36.486

5. Ben Carlson, 1:37.023

6. Hayden Schultz, 1:37.045

7. Tyler O'Hara, 1:37.469

8. Ryan Kerr, 1:37.546

9. David Estok, 1:38.389

10. Darren James, 1:38.636

11. Josh Chisum, 1:38.945

12. Shelina Moreda, 1:43.149

13. Nick Hansen, 1:43.262

110% of Fast Time: 1:44.806

14. J.C. Gibbs, 1:45.743

15. Jerrett Martin, 1:55.840

16. Brice Cooper, no time recorded