Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jun 20, 2013

One Quarter Of AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Class At Barber Entered On Triumphs

GEICO Motorcycle AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike: Bobby Fong (50) on his Triumph Daytona 675R.
History Repeats Itself: Triumph Continues Racing Revival

One Quarter of AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Class Riding Triumphs

Birmingham, Ala. (June 20, 2013) – Triumph Motorcycles continues its AMA Pro Racing resurgence this weekend at the Triumph Superbike Classic in Birmingham, Alabama, where six racers will ride the Daytona 675R in the Daytona SportBike class. Another two Triumphs will compete in the SuperSport class.

Representing over 25% of the Daytona SportBike field, the riders and team’s companies competing in this premier AMA Pro Racing class include:

· Jason DiSalvo – #40 Latus Motors Racing Castrol Triumph
· Elena Myers – #21 Apex Manufacturing Castrol Triumph
· Bobby Fong – # 50 D & D Cycles Castrol Triumph
· Rob McLendon III – # 16 D & D Cycles Castrol Triumph
· Kenny Riedmann – # 42 Riedmann Racing / Sturgess Cycle Castrol Triumph
· Joey Pascarella – # 52 Riders Discount Racing Triumph

Kyle Wyman, on the Millennium Technologies Cycle Stop Triumph, was also scheduled to compete in the Daytona SportBike class, but suffered a training injury and will not participate this weekend.

The influx of Triumph racers recalls the late 60s and early 70s when the British manufacturer was a dominant force in AMA Pro Racing. AMA Hall of Fame member Gary Nixon won two AMA Grand National Championships aboard Triumphs in 1967 and 1968, while fellow Hall of Famer Gene Romero won the same championship with Triumph in 1970.

The second annual Triumph Superbike Classic, presented by America’s First Credit Union, takes place June 22-23 in Birmingham, Alabama at the world-class Barber Motorsports Park. Television coverage of the weekend’s events can be seen on the CBS Sports Network as part of the network’s Sports Spectacular series. Coverage begins at 2:30 p.m. EST on Saturday, June 22 and resumes at 3:00 p.m. EST on Sunday, June 23 with live broadcasts at 4:00 p.m. EST both days.
Top 5 This Week