Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Aug 22, 2013

Mopar Canadian Superbike Championship To Be Decided This Coming Weekend At Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant

Mopar Canadian Superbike Championship: Alex Welsh (7) and Jordan Szoke (1) in action. Photo by Bob Szoke, courtesy of CSBK Frontline Inc.
Szoke and Welsh to decide Superbike crown at Mont-Tremblant

TORONTO, Ont. – The battle for the Mopar Canadian Superbike Championship will be settled at this weekend’s final round at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant in Mont-Tremblant, Que.

Jordan Szoke comes into the event with a 41-point lead over Alex Welsh, 251-210, after five of six races. The Brantford, Ont. veteran is bidding for an unprecedented ninth Canada Cup while Uxbridge, Ont.’s Welsh is chasing his first national crown.

With 50 points available for a race win and 42 points on offer for second place in Sunday’s race, a first or second place finish is almost essential for Welsh if he hopes to secure the title. However, there is also a two-point bonus for leading the most laps and points awarded to the top four qualifiers on Saturday, meaning plenty of scenarios could come into play over the course of the weekend.

Szoke has led the points chase since winning the opening round of the season at Shannonville Motorsport Park on his Waznie Racing / BMW Motorrad Canada / Parts Canada BMW S1000RR, and he has a tremendous record at Mont-Tremblant, having won the past four Superbike nationals on the classic 4.26km (2.65-mile) 15-turn track.

However, the 34-year-old has not won since the second round at Autodrome St-Eustache in July, having finished second in each of the next three races.

Welsh, meanwhile, is coming off his first victory of the season on the AW7R / Kenwood Electronics Canada / Parts Canada Suzuki GSX-R1000 at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park and enjoyed two trouble free races there after seeing technical issues spoil his chances in the first half of the season.

While the championship war will be fought between Szoke and Welsh, there are a number of other racers who could figure in the battle for the race win.

A rough weekend at CTMP spoiled Jodi Christie’s title chances, but the Jodi Christie Racing / Honda Canada / Accelerated Technologies Honda CBR1000RR rider earned a thrilling victory over Szoke in round three of the Mopar Canadian Superbike Championship at Atlantic Motorsport Park. The Keene, Ont. racer also produced a sensational effort at Mont-Tremblant last year, climbing from the back of the pack to finish third.

Bodhi Edie made a remarkable 2013 series debut by winning his first career Superbike national at CTMP’s doubleheader and the Warman, Sask. 17-year-old will be at Mont-Tremblant aboard the Edie Racing / Charles Antle / Ffun Motorsports BMW S1000RR.

The Sunoco / Brooklin Cycle Racing Pro Rookie of the Year title will also be decided at Le Circuit this weekend, and Caledon, Ont.’s Kristopher Garvie enjoys a solid lead after moving into fourth in the overall point standings at CTMP on his Genics Inc. Kawasaki ZX-10R.

This weekend will also see the final races in five other national classes, with three more number one plates on the line.

Christie has already wrapped up his third straight Hindle Exhaust Pro Sport Bike crown on his Honda CBR600RR but will be trying to complete a perfect season of six wins in six starts. His task has become tougher each round, and at CTMP he got a big fight from Calgary’s John Ross MacRae on the Riedmann Racing / Castrol / Blackfoot Triumph 675 and Garvie’s Honda Canada-backed CBR600RR.

Steve Crevier of Maple Ridge, B.C. regained the lead in the Harley-Davidson Canada XR1200 Cup at CTMP and he will try to clinch his third straight crown. Toronto’s Michael Taylor is only 28 points back, however.

Toronto’s Riley Dawe holds a slim three-point lead over Mitch Card in the Magneti Marelli Amateur Superbike class, which will run a pair of races at Mont-Tremblant, while Ripley, Ont.’s Card took over the Bazzaz / Inside Motorcycles Amateur Sport Bike points lead with two wins at CTMP.

Peterborough, Ont.’s Tomas Casas wrapped up the Honda CBR250R National Race Series title at CTMP but will try to pick up his seventh and eighth wins of the season this weekend.

Action at Mont-Tremblant opens Friday with a full day of practice. Qualifying for all six national classes, including the Magneti Marelli SuperPole in the Pro Superbike division, will take place Saturday. Saturday’s action also includes the penultimate rounds of the Amateur Superbike championship and CBR250R series. Feature races in all six national classes will run Sunday.

Tickets are available by calling (819) 425-6363, or by emailing Fans can also visit the website at

Video coverage of the Mopar Pro Superbike, Harley-Davidson Canada XR1200 Cup and Saturday’s Honda CBR250R National will be available on, as well as highlights from the Hindle Exhaust Pro Sport Bike race.

Point Standings

Mopar Pro Superbike: 1. Jordan Szoke (BMW) 251; 2. Alex Welsh (Suzuki) 210; 3. Jodi Christie (Honda) 168; 4. Kristopher Garvie (Honda/Kawasaki) 125; 5. Sebastien Tremblay (BMW) 118

Hindle Exhaust Pro Sport Bike: 1. Jodi Christie (Honda) 271*; 2. John Ross MacRae (Triumph) 207; 3. Kristopher Garvie (Honda) 170

Harley-Davidson XR1200 Cup: 1. Steve Crevier 213; 2. Michael Taylor 185; 3. John Ross MacRae 160

Magneti Marelli Amateur Superbike: 1. Riley Dawe (BMW) 174; 2. Mitch Card (Honda) 171; 3. Steve Hoffarth (BMW) 141

Bazzaz/Inside Motorcycles Amateur Sport Bike: 1. Mitch Card (Honda) 212; 2. Marco Sousa (Suzuki) 200; 3. Riley Dawe (Yamaha) 165

Honda CBR250R National Race Series: 1. Tomas Casas 409*; 2. Cameron Walker 239; 3. Matt Chandler 192
*--Clinched Championship

Recent Mont-Tremblant Superbike National Wins
2012 – Jordan Szoke (Brantford, Ont.) BMW
2007 – Jordan Szoke (Brantford, Ont.) Kawasaki
2006 – Jordan Szoke (Brantford, Ont.) Kawasaki
2004 – Jordan Szoke (Brantford, Ont.) Honda
2003 – Tom Kipp (Chardon, Ohio) Kawasaki

Mont-Tremblant Fast Facts

…This is the first time the battle for the Canadian Superbike title has gone down to the final race since 2009, when Jordan Szoke edged Brett McCormick for the number one plate.

…This is the first time the final round of the season has been held at Le Circuit Mont-Tremblant. In fact, Quebec hasn’t staged the finale since 1996, when Alma played host to the last round and Michael Taylor won his second Canadian Superbike crown.

Provisional Weekend Schedule

Saturday, August 24
11:15 a.m. – 11:35 a.m. – Magneti Marelli Amateur Superbike Qualifying
11:45 a.m. – 12:05 p.m. – Honda CBR250R National Race Series Qualifying
1:00 p.m. – 1:20 p.m. – Hindle Exhaust Pro Sport Bike Qualifying
1:30 p.m. – 1:50 p.m. – Bazzaz/Inside Motorcycles Amateur Sport Bike Qualifying
2:00 p.m. – Honda CBR250R National Race Series Race (8 laps)
2:40 p.m. – 3:20 p.m. – Mopar Pro Superbike Magneti Marelli SuperPole Qualifying
3:30 p.m. – 3:50 p.m. – Harley-Davidson XR1200 Cup Qualifying
4:00 p.m. – Magneti Marelli Amateur Superbike Race (12 laps)*
*--Make-up for event cancelled at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park

Sunday, August 25
11:40 a.m. – Honda CBR250R National Race Series Race (8 laps)
1:00 p.m. – Hindle Exhaust Pro Sport Bike Race (12 laps)
Bazzaz/Inside Motorcycles Amateur Sport Bike Race (12 laps)
Harley-Davidson XR1200 Cup Race (12 laps)
3:00 p.m. – Mopar Pro Superbike Race (16 laps)
Magneti Marelli Amateur Superbike Race (12 laps)