Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jul 4, 2001

Laguna Seca World Superbike Facts

The track is 2.238 miles long with 11 turns and major changes of elevation.<BR><BR>The current track record was set in 1999 at 1:25.185 by Anthony Gobert aboard a Vance&Hines Ducati 996 Superbike on Dunlop slicks during World Superbike qualifying.<BR><BR>Past Laguna World Superbike Winners (Race 1/ Race 2):<BR><BR>2000: Noriyuki Haga, Yamaha/Troy Corser, Aprilia <BR>1999: Anthony Gobert, Ducati/Ben Bostrom, Ducati <BR>1998: Troy Corser, Ducati/Noriyuki Haga, Yamaha<BR>1997: John Kocinski, Honda/John Kocinski, Honda<BR>1996: John Kocinski, Honda/Anthony Gobert, Kawasaki<BR>1995: Anthony Gobert, Kawasaki/Troy Corser, Ducati <BR><BR>In the six rounds and 12 World Superbike races held at Laguna Seca:<BR><BR>Gobert, Corser, and Kocinski are tied for the most wins with three.<BR>Ducati is the winningest manufacturer with five wins.<BR>Troy Corser has the most podium finishes with seven.<BR><BR>Only three AMA Superbike regulars are entered in the 2001 World Superbike round at Laguna Seca:<BR>Eric Bostrom, Kawasaki<BR>Doug Chandler, Kawasaki<BR>Anthony Gobert, Yamaha<BR><BR>Ben Bostrom (Ducati) recorded his first World Superbike win as an AMA regular at Laguna Seca in 1999.<BR><BR>Neil Hodgson (Ducati) recorded his first World Superbike podium finish at Laguna Seca in 1996.<BR><BR>Colin Edwards' second-place finish on a Honda in last year's race one was his first podium finish in World Superbike action at Laguna Seca.<BR><BR>Twin-cylinder machines have won six times at Laguna Seca, but four-cylinder bikes have also won six races.<BR><BR>According to the World Superbike Media Guide, the 2000 race at Laguna Seca was attended by 82,000 spectators and 243 media members. The spectator turnout was second only to the 2000 race at Brands Hatch in England, but Laguna Seca's media figure was the highest for the year.<BR><BR>Current World Superbike Point Standings (16 of 26 races complete, all 26 count):<BR><BR>1. Troy Bayliss, Ducati, 250 points<BR>2. Colin Edwards II, Honda, 203 points<BR>3. Troy Corser, Aprilia, 179 points<BR>4. Pierfrancesco Chili, Suzuki, 153 points<BR>5. Ben Bostrom, Ducati, 147 points<BR>6. Neil Hodgson, Ducati, 141 points<BR>7. Gregorio Lavilla, Kawasaki, 116 points<BR>8. Akira Yanagawa, Kawasaki, 110 points<BR>9. Tadayuki Okada, Honda, 100 points<BR>10. Stephane Chambon, Suzuki, 80 points<BR><BR>World Superbike Point Payout<BR>1st – 25 points<BR>2nd – 20 points<BR>3rd – 16 points<BR>4th – 13 points<BR>5th – 11 points<BR>6th – 10 points<BR>7th – 9 points<BR>8th – 8 points<BR>9th – 7 points<BR>10th – 6 points<BR>11th – 5 points<BR>12th – 4 points<BR>13th – 3 points<BR>14th – 2 points<BR>15th – 1 point<BR><BR><BR>
Top 5 This Week