Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Nov 22, 2013

CMRA Recognizes Its 2013 Sprint Racing Champions

Danny Kelsey (34) won the 2013 CMRA Overall Championship and five class Championships. Photo by Linz Leard/NineSeven Images, courtesy of

CMRA Congratulates Its 2013 Sprint Champions and Danny Kelsey, New Overall Number 1 Plate Holder The Central Motorcycle Roadracing Association (CMRA) honored its 2013 sprint champions at its annual awards banquet, held this past Saturday, November 16, 2013 at the Waco Convention Center, in Waco, Texas. The CMRA would like to congratulate our competitors, sponsors, and spectators for making 2013 such an exciting season for the Texas-based club. Record-setting entries and fierce competition brought the CMRA to a whole new level. Danny Kelsey rode his Suzuki GSX-R750 and 1000 to the overall club championship, bringing home the Number One Plate and five individual sprint class championships in A Superstock Expert, A Superbike Expert, B Superstock Expert, B Superbike Expert, Formula 1 Expert, and second in Solo 30 HW. The evening included other special awards as well. Ty Howard was inducted into the CMRA Hall Of Fame for his contributions to the sport, both on and off the track. Ty joins previous CMRA Hall of Fame inductees including: Colin Edwards, Brooks Gremmels, David Hirsch, Jamie James, Lou Linden, Ronnie Lunsford, Norm and Sam McDonald, Laroy Montgomery, Doug Polen, Kevin Schwantz, Freddie Spencer, Ben Spies, Britt Turkington and the Brothers Family. The 2013 Claire McMahan Extra Mile Award was presented to Fred and Zac Chapman for their ongoing support and inspiration to the CMRA membership. Fred is the CMRA Track Chaplain, so he and Zac make it their mission to attend every CMRA event. The Rookie Expert Award went to Bobby Davies. 

Videos from the banquet can be viewed here:

For a complete list of results and standings, please visit the website: The 2014 CMRA season will begin on February 14-16, at MSR Houston, Angleton Texas. Details for the weekend will be announced when finalized. Thank you again to the competitors and sponsors for making this a fantastic season of great racing action and looking forward to seeing you all in February! 

2013 Top 10 Overall CMRA Club Champions #1 - Danny Kelsey #2 – Conner Blevins #3 – Jim Whitten #4 – Danny Dominguez #5 – James Camacho Jr. #6 – Bobby Davies #7 – Ben Jones #8 – William Guthrie #9 – John Orchard #10 – Garet Tomlinson 

Expert Sprint Champions for 2013 by class: 

Raceworx - A Superstock Expert Danny Kelsey (Suz GSX-R1000) 

TrackTactics Track Days - B Superstock Expert Danny Kelsey (Suz GSX-R750) 

South Central Race Center - C Superstock Expert Conner Blevins (Kaw ZX-6R) 

D Superstock Expert Danny Dominguez (Suz SV650) 

Texas Tornado Boot Camp - E Superstock Jim Whitten (Kaw 250R) - A Superbike Expert Danny Kelsey (Suz GSX-R1000) 

B Superbike Expert Danny Kelsey (Suz GSX-R750) 

C Superbike Expert Conner Blevins (Kaw ZX-6R) 

D Superbike Expert Jim Whitten (Duc 1000SS) 

Houston Superbikes - HW Twins Expert Ted Phillips (Apr RSV1000) 

Lightweight Twins Expert Jim Whitten (Duc 1000SS) 

Breast Cancer Research Foundation/P1 Racing- Formula 1 Expert Danny Kelsey (Suz GSX-R1000) 

Formula 2 Expert Jim Whitten (Duc 1000SS) 

Body Evolution Fitness Center - Formula 40 HW Expert Joseph Caruso (BMW S1000RR) 

Formula 40 LW Expert Jim Whitten (Duc 1000SS) 

North Texas Superbikes – Formula 1 Ladies Lindsey Redfern (Yam YZF-R6) 

Texas Motorcycle Academy/Harris Hill Raceway - Motard Connor Toner (Apr SXV5.5) 

Classic Karl Hansen (Hon CBR600) 

Modern Classic Ted Phillips (Apr RSV1000) 

Rookie Expert HW Bobby Davies (Yam YZF-R6) 

Relentless Swagg - Rookie Expert LW Ben Jones (Suz SV650) 

Six Three Cycles - Formula 3 Nick Doolan (Hon RS125) 

Island Racing Services - Solo 30 HW Expert Ted Phillips (Apr RSV1000) 

Island Racing Services - Solo 30 MW Expert Andy Galindo (Kaw ZX-6R) 

Solo 30 LW Expert Mike Canzoneri (Suz SV650) 

Solo 30 Ultra LW Expert Bill Syfan (Kaw 250R) 

Novice Sprint Champions for 2013 by class: 

OnRoad OffRoad Suspension - A Superstock Novice David Napier (Suz GSX-R750) 

Lone Star Track Days - B Superstock Novice Doug Frenchak (Yam YZF-R6) 

Moto Liberty - C Superstock Novice Doug Frenchak (Yam YZF-R6) 

OnRoad OffRoad Suspension - D Superstock Novice Nick McDonald (Suz SV650) 

North Texas Superbikes - A Superbike Novice David Napier (Suz GSX-R750) 

North Texas Superbikes - B Superbike Novice David Napier (Suz GSX-R750) 

House of Paint Designs - C Superbike Novice Doug Frenchak (Yam YZF-R6) 

D Superbike Novice Britten Geary (Suz SV650) 

 Houston Superbikes - HW Twins Novice Jim Dugger (Buell 1125R) - LW Twins Novice Britten Geary (Suz SV650) 

Road & Track Suspension - Formula 1 Novice Jay Newton (Kaw ZX-6R) 

Road & Track Suspension - Formula 2 Novice Britten Geary (Suz SV650) 

Body Evolution Fitness Center - Formula 40 HW Novice Thomas Delaney (Hon CBR1000RR) 

Formula 40 LW Novice Sean Brown (Suz GSX-R600) 

 Island Racing Services - Solo 30 HW Novice Kevin Taylor (Hon CBR1000RR) 

 Island Racing Services - Solo 30 MW Novice Chris Hamlett (Suz GSX-R600) 

Solo 30 LW Novice Connor Toner (Apr SXV5.5) 

Overall Top Novice David Napier - 1st Doug Frenchak - 2nd Jay Newton - 3rd 

Mini Sprint Champions for 2013 by class: 

K&N Motorcycles - Junior Motard Shaine Giarratano (Ori OPBS-X3R) 

Road & Track Suspension - Formula 4 Ken Ryder (Kaw 250R)

OnRoad OffRoad Suspension - Formula 5 Allan Boyd 

Formula 6 Trey Walker (Suz RM65) 

Formula 7 Jose Gutierrez (Hon NSF100)