Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Nov 28, 2012

CMRA Recognizes Its 2012 Sprint Champions

Ty Howard (35), the 2012 CMRA Overall Champion. Photo by Brandon Bones/Studio 819, courtesy of CMRA.
CMRA Congratulates Its 2012 Sprint Champions and Ty Howard, New Overall Number 1 Plate Holder

The Central Motorcycle Roadracing Association (CMRA) would like to thank its competitors, sponsors, and spectators for making 2012 such an exciting season for the Texas-based club. Grids were large, and competition was fierce. Ty Howard rode his Bridgestone-shod KTM RC8 to the overall club champion spot, bringing home the Number One Plate and three individual sprint class championships in A Superstock Expert, A Superbike Expert, and Formula 1 Expert. Howard had this to say, "2012 turned out to be a great year, and the competition pushed me hard all year. I'd like to thank Brandon Spradling at P1 Racing Services and John Hutchinson at South Central Race Center for their help getting me to the number one. I'd also like to thank Bridgestone Tires, DynoJet, Pilot, Motorex, KTM North America, Totally Graphic Designs and"

Nancy Selleck, CMRA Administrator, had this to add,"2012 turned out to be a fantastic race season for the CMRA"¦great weather, very healthy grids and exciting racing. Our racers and supporters are like no other and we are proud to have them as a part of our CMRA family."

For a complete list of results and standings, please visit the website: The 2012 CMRA Annual Awards Party will be held on January 12, 2013, in Edom, Texas, with an Open Membership Meeting at 2:30 p.m. followed by Happy Hour at 4:30 pm. The 2013 CMRA season will begin on February 15-17, at MSR Houston, Angleton TX. Details for the weekend will be announced when finalized. Thank you again to the competitors and sponsors for making this a fantastic season of great racing action and looking forward to seeing you all in February!

Overall CMRA Club Champion (#1 plate holder for 2013)
Ty Howard (KTM RC8)

Expert Sprint Champions for 2012 by class:

Raceworx - A Superstock Expert
Ty Howard (KTM RC8)

B Superstock Expert
Danny Kelsey (Suz GSX-R750)

South Central Race Center - C Superstock Expert
Conner Blevins (Kaw ZX-6R)

D Superstock Expert
Austin Gore (Suz SV650) - A Superbike Expert
Ty Howard (KTM RC8)

B Superbike Expert
Danny Kelsey (Suz GSX-R750)

Island Racing Services - C Superbike Expert
Derek Wagnon (Duc 848)

D Superbike Expert
Darrell Ricks (Suz SV650)

Heavyweight Twins Expert
Derek Wagnon (Duc 848)

Lightweight Twins Expert
Darrell Ricks (Suz SV650)

125 Grand Prix
Rodney Scott Barkalow (Hon RS125) - Formula 1 Expert
Ty Howard (KTM RC8)

Formula 2 Expert
Austin Gore (Suz SV650)

Formula 40 Heavyweight Expert
John Orchard (Yam YZF-R6)

Formula 40 Lightweight Expert
Shawn Adams (Suz SV650)

North Texas Superbikes F1 Ladies
Lindsey Redfern (Duc 848)

John Barsic (Hon CRF450)

Jesse Davis (Duc 796R)

Danny Dominguez (Kaw ZX-7R)

Modern Classic
Ted Phillips (Apr RSV1000)

Rookie Expert Heavyweight
Ryan Max Johnson (Suz GSX-R600)

Rookie Expert Lightweight
Eric Williams (Suz SV650)

Novice Sprint Champions for 2012 by class:

OnRoad OffRoad Suspension - A Superstock Novice
Will Zamora (Yam YZF-R1)

Lone Star Track Days - B Superstock Novice
Mike James (Kaw ZX-6R)

Moto Liberty - C Superstock Novice
Bobby Davies (Yam YZF-R6)

OnRoad OffRoad Suspension - D Superstock Novice
Ben Jones (Suz SV650)

North Texas Superbikes - A Superbike Novice
Will Zamora (Yam YZF-R1)

North Texas Superbikes - B Superbike Novice
Enoc Garza (Yam YZF-R6)

House of Paint Designs - C Superbike Novice
Mike James (Kaw ZX-6R)

D Superbike Novice
Patrick Kelly (Suz GSX-R600)

Heavyweight Twins Novice
Schuyler Dhooghe (Apr RSV1000)

Lightweight Twins Novice
Ben Jones (Suz SV650)

Road & Track Suspension - Formula 1 Novice
Bobby Davies (Yam YZF-R6)

Road & Track Suspension - Formula 2 Novice
Patrick Kelly (Suz GSX-R600)

Formula 40 Heavyweight Novice
Greg Gilstrap (Hon CBR1000RR)

Formula 40 Lightweight Novice
Patrick Kelly (Suz GSX-R600)

Mini Sprint Champions for 2012 by class:

K&N Motorcycles - Junior Motard
Trey Walker (Yam TTR110)

Texas Tornado Boot Camp - E Superstock Expert
Brandon Altmeyer (Kaw EX250)

Road & Track Suspension - Formula 4
Brandon Altmeyer (Kaw EX250)

OnRoad OffRoad Suspension - Solo 30 - Formula 5
Nick Doolan (Hon RS65)

Solo 30 - Formula 6
Lindsey Leard (Yam TTR125)

Solo 30 - Formula 7
Cooper McDonald (Yam YSR50)