Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Jan 22, 2001

AMA Announces What We Reported Four Days Ago

The AMA has issued a January 22 press release announcing what reported January 18, that Rick Gray and Jeff Smith have been re-elected and elected, respectively, to the AMA Board Of Trustees.

Gray is a 21-year member of the AMA from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, has served on the Board of Trustees for six years and is the current Chairman. Gray beat Jerry Wood and Bob Coy in balloting from the Northeast Region.

Smith, now retired after nine years as AHRMA Executive Director, is from Wausau, Wisconsin and has been a member of the AMA for 28 years. Smith won the 500cc Motocross World Championship twice, and beat Dale Greenwald in North Central Region votes for the AMA seat.

Dal Smilie of Helena, Montana was unopposed in the Northwest Region.

Trustees from the Southwest, Southeast and South Central Regions will be elected later this year.

Terms run for three years and members elect six of the 12 board positions. The other six are theoretically elected by AMA corporate members.