Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Nov 20, 2017

Alan Wilson-Designed Thermal Club Named "Motorsports Facility Of The Year"

Wilson Motorsport Track Wins Prestigious Award

Thermal Club Named ‘Motorsports Facility of the Year’

Salt Lake City (Nov. 20, 2017) – Wilson Motorsport, Inc., a racetrack-design company based in Salt Lake City, recently had one of its facilities recognized as the Motorsports Facility of the Year.

The Thermal Club, the Palm Springs motorsports facility that is the nation’s newest private-membership club, was announced as the winner of the Professional Motorsports World Expo “Motorsports Facility of the Year” award at the Expo’s opening-night celebration in Cologne, Germany, on November 15.

The Thermal Club emerged as the winner over tracks that included the Marina Bay Street Circuit track in Singapore, the Ningbo SpeedPark in China, Martinsville (Va.) Speedway, Red Hook (N.Y.) Street Circuit and Circuit de Vila Real in Portugal.

The award was received on behalf of The Thermal Club by track designer Alan Wilson of Wilson Motorsport, who also designed the Ningbo circuit which held its first FIA World Touring Car Championship event just four weeks ago. Wilson thanked Thermal Club owners Tim and Twanna Rogers, whose foresight, commitment and perseverance allowed Wilson Motorsport to turn his ideas into the amazing multiple-element facility that Thermal has become.

This was the second Wilson Motorsport facility to win this prestigious prize. In 2006 the award was presented to Miller Motorsports Park (now Utah Motorsports Campus) in Utah. In addition, two more of Wilson’s designs, Ningbo Speedpark and Inje Speedium in Korea, have also been amongst the finalists.

For more information, contact Wilson Motorsport at 801-292-1833. 

Top 5 This Week