Digital Edition Subscribers: Read Roadracing World Magazine Now >
Roadracing - An Online Service of Roadracing World Magazine
Nov 2, 2012

A Call For Young Guns, Class Of 2013

Former Roadracing World Young Gun Patrick "P.J." Jacobsen on his Tyco Suzuki GSX-R1000 British 1000cc Superstock bike at Silverstone.
We are collecting nominations for the 16th Annual Roadracing World Young Guns feature, highlighting up-and-coming young road racers from the United States and Canada. To be considered for the Young Guns feature, a racer must be between the ages of 12 and 18 at the start of 2013; have finished in the top three in a sanctioned Expert-level road race or Championship on a 125cc two-stroke/250cc four-stroke or larger motorcycle with full-size (17-inch) wheels; and reside within the United States or Canada. Amateur racers with extraordinary road racing accomplishments will also be considered. Teenagers with paid professional rides may or may not be excluded to make room for up-and-coming riders. Race sanctioning bodies, sponsors and race teams are encouraged to nominate young riders, but riders or their parents must themselves request and submit completed applications and provide photos suitable for publication by our deadline to be considered. Riders who have previously been selected as a Young Gun should call David Swarts at 951-245-6411 between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. (Pacific Time) Monday through Friday to quickly update their profile information and arrange submission of up-to-date photos. To be considered for the next Young Guns feature, obtain, fill out and return a 2013 Young Guns questionnaire to Roadracing World by December 31, 2012. Requests for questionnaires should be sent via e-mail to Questionnaires must be filled out completely and legibly. Completed questionnaires may be returned to the same e-mail address; submitted via U.S. mail; or submitted via overnight delivery service (see addresses listed below). In addition to their completed questionnaires, candidates should also submit an action photo and a head shot (a photo clearly showing the rider's face) suitable for magazine reproduction. Each submitted photo must include written permission (an e-mail is acceptable) from the photographer (even if it is a parent) giving Roadracing World the specific right to publish that photo free of charge. Scans and photocopies of photos are not usable. Digital images must be high-resolution, or 300 ppi/dpi or higher at 4 x 6 inches. All photos must be accompanied by the name of the rider and the photographer along with when and where the photo was taken, including the racetrack and race sanctioning body. Digital photos are preferred, but hard copies of photos will be scanned and returned if a self-addressed, stamped envelope is included. The mailing address is: Roadracing World, Attn: Young Guns, P.O. Box 1428, Lake Elsinore, CA 92531-1428 The FedEx or other overnight delivery address is: Roadracing World, Attn: Young Guns, 581-C Birch St., Lake Elsinore, CA 92530. Late and incomplete submissions may not be considered. The 15 Young Guns features to date appeared in the November 1997, March 1999, February 2000, March 2001, February 2002, April 2003, April 2004, May 2005, June 2006, April 2007, April 2008, April 2009, April 2010, April 2011 and April 2012 issues of Roadracing World. If you have any questions, call 951-245-6411 between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. (Pacific Time) and ask to speak to David Swarts or e-mail The Roadracing World Young Guns series started as an answer to critics who said America lacked up-and-coming young riders. Current or former Roadracing World Young Guns have: Raced in all classes of the MotoGP World Championship (including the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup series) and Superbike World Championship, winning races and capturing World Championships; Competed in European Championship and well as British, Canadian, Czech Republic, German, Italian and Spanish National series; Raced in the AMA Pro Championships (winning many races and Championships in all classes, including Superbike); Finished on the podium at the Suzuki GSX-R World Cup; won Suzuki Cup Championships in the U.S.; earned WERA National Challenge, National Endurance and Sportsman National Championships; won ASRA/Formula USA Grand National and CCS National Championships; collected USGPRU titles; and won many local and regional Championships. Some of the riders who have graduated from Young Guns and gone on to racing success in National or International series include: AMA Pro Daytona SportBike race winner Tommy Aquino; 2010 AMA Pro SuperSport East Champion and former Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Champion J.D. Beach; AMA Pro Daytona SportBike pilot Cameron Beaubier; two-time Canadian Sport Bike Champion Jodi Christie; former AMA Pro SuperSport East Champion and former World Supersport racer Josh Day; 2011 Daytona 200 winner Jason DiSalvo; AMA Pro SuperSport race winner Dustin Dominguez; Pikes Peak International Hill Climb motorcycle track record holder Carlin Dunne; two-time AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Champion Danny Eslick; AMA Pro Daytona SportBike race winner Bobby Fong; AMA Pro Daytona SportBike race winner and former Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Champion Jake Gagne; 2006 FIM MotoGP World Champion Nicky Hayden; former AMA Pro 600cc Supersport Champion and AMA Pro Superbike race winner Roger Hayden; eight-time AMA Pro Superbike race winner Tommy Hayden; AMA Pro Superbike factory rider Josh Herrin; AMA Pro Superstock race winner Jake Holden; 2011 British Superbike Championship runner-up and former MotoGP and World Superbike regular John Hopkins; British 1000cc Superstock and 600cc Supersport race winner Patrick "P.J." Jacobsen; AMA Pro Superbike regular and former Suzuki Cup Champion Taylor Knapp; Canadian Superbike race winner Kevin Lacombe; Elena Myers, the first woman to win an AMA Pro Supersport race; AMA Pro XR1200 race winner Shane Narbonne; AMA Pro SuperSport race winner Huntley Nash; 2012 Canadian Superbike Championship runner-up Andrew Nelson; AMA Pro SuperSport race winner Tyler Odom; 2012 Daytona 200 winner and 2010 AMA Pro SuperSport West Champion Joey Pascarella; AMA Pro SuperSport podium finisher Bryce Prince; AMA Pro and Canadian National race winner Chris Peris; two-time AMA Pro SuperSport National Champion James Rispoli; three-time AMA Pro Superbike Champion, 2009 Superbike World Champion and MotoGP race winner Ben Spies; WERA Sportsman National Champion Kris Turner; multi-time AMA Pro race winner Chris Ulrich; Canadian Superbike race winner Alex Welsh; former AMA Pro Superbike Rookie of the Year Cory West; and two-time AMA Pro Superbike Championship runner-up Blake Young.
Top 5 This Week